This site uses a number of third party cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy


Governing Body

The term of the Seventh Governing Body began on the 1st April 2015. The Governing Body has a five-year term and twenty Members who are appointed in accordance with the Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT) 1992 and 1994 Acts.

Term of Office Commenced: 1st April 2015

The current Members are:


The Chair, appointed by the Minister under the DIT Act 1992 Second Schedule Section (2) (1)

Professor Tom Collins


The President, an ex officio Member under the DIT 1992 Act Third Schedule Section 3

Professor Brian Norton


Eighteen Ordinary Members appointed by the Minister on the recommendation of the City of Dublin Education and Training Board (CDETB) under the DIT 1994 Act Section 4(1) (a) to (g):


Six Members nominated by the CDETB

Mr William Bassett

Councillor Paddy Bourke          

Councillor Áine Clancy

Mr Michael Donnelly

Councillor Greg Kelly

Ms Mary Lonergan


Two Members, one female and one male, elected from and by from the DIT Academic Staff

Dr Michael Carr                        

Ms Denise Dunphy                               


One Member elected from and by the DIT Non-Academic Staff

Mr Colm Gillen                         


Two Members, one female and one male, elected annually from and by the Students’ Union Members

Mr Pierre Yimbog (President elect)

Ms Róisin O'Donovan


One Member nominated by the Irish Congress of Trade Unions

Ms Jackie Kelly                                                                                                


One Member Appointed nominated by the University of Dublin

Professor Paula Murphy


Five Members nominated by those external Organisations recommended by the DIT Academic Council that are representative of industry, agriculture, commerce, the professions, or other interests, and with regard to the particular courses provided by DIT:

Mr James O’Connor - American Chamber of Commerce (recommended as Industry interests)

Mr Declan Troy – Teagasc (recommended as Agriculture interests)

Ms Imelda Reynolds - Dublin Chamber of Commerce (recommended as Commerce interests)

Mr John Mulcahy - Fáilte Ireland (recommended as the Professions interests)

Dr Tom Kelly - Enterprise Ireland (recommended as Other Interests)