Graduation Ceremony Feb 2007


The graduation ceremony held in Feb 2007 included the first graduates of the course MSc (Pharmaceutical Validation Technology). Students from this course Lynn Gallagher, Annita Nyham and Yvonne O'Hara received their certificates from the President of DIT, Prof. Brian Norton at the ceremony.

The first graduates of the MSc (Pharmaceutical Validation Technology) with from left, Dr. Declan McCormack (Head of School), Dr Anne Greene, Prof Brian Norton (President, DIT), Dr Fiona O'Sullivan and Dr Barry Foley (Asst. Head of School)

Other School courses at the ceremony were BSc(Hons) Chemical Sciences, MSc (Pharmaceutical Quality Assurance) and MSc (Pharmaceutical and Chemical Process Control). A graduate of the latter course was Mr Martin Kitson, a technician in the school, who completed the course part-time.

An MPhil was awarded to Grainne Duffy, in abstentia, whose supervisors were Dr Declan McCormack and Dr Suresh Pillai.

Prizewinners 2007

Also at the ceremony, prizewinners in chemistry were announced. The prizes were awarded at a subsequent ceremony in the School.

Ms Kate Fitzpatrick

Kate recievied the AGB Prize for best perfomance in the final examination for DT203/4 (Forensic and Environmental Analysis). Kate (pictured below right with Ciara O'Connell of AGB and with Dr Declan McCormack, Head of School) ) is currently pursuing her PhD in Trinity College.

Mr Gary Hessman

Gary received the RSC Project Prize, awarded by the Royal Society of Chemistry (ROI section) to the the student with the best project mark in the BSc(Chemical Sciences). Gary (pictured below with Dr Patricia Ennis, course coordinator and member of the RSC Republic of Ireland Committee) is currently pursuing a PhD in DIT.

Back to the School of Chemical and Pharmaceutical Sciences Homepage