Recent News From CERT

For more information on any of the details below, please contact any member of the team.

Dr Michael Seery wins the Jennifer Burke Award

Congratulations to Dr Michael Seery, who wont the 2011 Jennifer Burke Award for innovation in Teaching and Learning. The award was for work completed in developing online pre-lecture resources to assist novice learners in chemistry. You can find out more about the award at the Jennifer Burke site: 

Presentation of Two Prestigious Awards to CERT

CERT members were presented with two awards in Nov 09 in recgnition of their developments of innovative teaching practice.

Dr Claire Mc Donnell was awarded the RSC Higher Education Award at the RSC's Awards Ceremony at their General Assembley in Birmingham on 20 Nov. Presenting the award, the President of the RSC, Prof. Dave Garner, said that Claire was being awarded for the way her numerous teaching and learning developments in relation to tutorials, virtual learning and context based learning have encouraged and supported students to greater enthusiasm and success. Claire received a medal and certificate from the Society.

The CERT team members Dr Claire Mc Donnell, Dr Christine O'Connor, Dr Sarah Rawe and Dr Michael Seery were also delighted to receive the National Academy for Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning (NAIRTL) Teaching Excellence Award at a ceremony in Dublin Castle on Nov 18th. The awards were made in recognition of the ongoing laboratory development work by the team. The team's nominator, Dr Declan McCormack said at the ceremony that the team represented what was good about DIT - teaching across levels 7 - 10, with all four holding formal qualifications. Accepting the award, Dr Michael Seery on behalf of the team thanked NAIRTL, for thier foresight in recognising the supports required at third level to foster 4th level education and DIT's Learning Teaching and Technology Centre, who had fostered much of their own development in teaching innovations. The team, along with the other awardees then received a crystal piece from the President of Ireland, Dr. Mary McAleese. More information on NAIRTL can be found at their website.

Teaching Fellowship 2010 - 2011

Congratulations to who was awarded an DIT Teaching Fellowship for 2010 - 2011. The Fellowship is funded by the HEA SIF 2 Programme. During his Fellowship, Michael will be working with his colleagues in the Chemistry Education Research Team in looking at issues around supporting student learning in first year chemistry, primarily through considering the cognitive load of new learners. More information on the Fellowships is available here.

Sept 2009: CERT Members Co-Authors on New Book for Teachers in Higher Education

Dr Claire Mc Donnell and Dr Michael Seery are co-authors in a new book on Innovative Teaching Methods in Higher Education. The book, "Innovative Methods of Teaching and Learning in Chemistry Higher Education" is edited by Ingo Eilks (University of Bremen) and Bill Byers (University of Ulster) and contains several chapters on innovative approaches to teaching chemistry in higer education. Dr Mc Donnell co-authored a chapter on the use of e-Learning and Dr Seery co-authored chapters on Context and Problem based Learning as well as Laboratory Teaching.

The book is published bythe RSC, having been put together by working group members of the European Chemistry Thematic Network (ECTN), of which DIT is an institutional member. Dr McDonnell is the Institute's representative, and along with Dr Seery, Dr Christine O'Connor and Mr Paul Ashall, is an active contributor to the ECTN.

June 2009: Dr Claire Mc Donnell wins RSC Higher Education Teaching Award

Congratulations to Dr Claire Mc Donnell who won the 2009 RSC Higher Education Teaching Award. This prestigious award is given annually to a higher education lecturer to recognise outstanding teaching skills and who have developed innovative materials and methods in teaching in higher education. Claire's work has included development of novel practical work, community based learning, support mechanisms for first years as well as organising RSC Chemistry at Work events. Full details of her educational interests are available on the Chemistry Education Research Team page. The RSC citation and details of Claire's achievement can be found on their website.

Dr Claire Mc Donnell, with Prof Tina Overton (University of Hull, winner of Nyholm Award) and Dr Stuart Bennett (Open University, winner of Education Award), receiving their RSC awards

More: The DIT newsroom covers details of the President, Prof Norton, congratulating Dr Mc Donnell on her award.

Back to CERT Homepage

July 2009: CERT awarded NAIRTL Grant

The Chemistry Education Research Team were pleased to receive a grant of €5000 from the National Academy for Integration of Research Teaching and Learning (NAIRTL) in a project aimed to investigate the research awareness/preparedness as a result of innovative teaching methods.