big_band_4 big_band_7 big_band_9 big_band_11 aladin_1 aladin_11 header_4 header_3

November 4: Symphonic Dances with DIT Symphony Orchestra

Symphonic Dances

Monday 4 November, 8pm
National Concert Hall

Tickets: €15 (€10 for Children and Senior Citizens)
20% discount for groups of 10 or more
20% discount for Friends of the National Concert Hall

DIT Symphony Orchestra
David Brophy, conductor

John Adams: The Chairman Dances: Foxtrot for Orchestra (1985)
Piazzolla - Adams: ┬┐La Mufa (Tango) (1995)
Piazzolla - Adams: Todo Buenos Aires (Tango) (1996) 
David Fennessy: This is how it feels (Another Bolero) (2007/2009)
Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances, Op. 45

Enjoy an evening of orchestral music celebrating Dance 

Join DIT Symphony Orchestra under the direction of David Brophy for an evening of exhilarating and colourful orchestral music inspired by dance. 

John Adams’ driven rhythms are followed by his orchestrations of Piazzolla’s powerful Argentine tangos. DIT graduate David Fennessy imagines “a microscopic orchestra all seated in the swirl of a fingerprint”.  Rachmaninoff’s final completed composition is both vibrant and melancholic with the spirit of Russia and dance intertwined.

Presented by the DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama