big_band_4 big_band_7 big_band_9 big_band_11 aladin_1 aladin_11 header_4 header_3

Symphonic Dances

Symphonic Dances

An Evening of Orchestral Music Celebrating Dance

Featuring music by John Adams, Astor Piazzolla, David Fennessy and Sergei Rachmaninoff


Monday 4th November 2013, 8pm
National Concert Hall

DIT Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: David Brophy
Soloists: David O’Doherty, Gillian Williams (violin)

Tickets: €15, €10 concession
Available online at or Tel: 01 417 0000

Join DIT Symphony Orchestra under the direction of David Brophy for an evening of exhilarating and colourful orchestral music inspired by dance.  John Adams’ driven rhythms are followed by his orchestrations of Piazzolla’s powerful Argentine tangos. DIT graduate David Fennessy imagines “a microscopic orchestra all seated in the swirl of a fingerprint”.  Rachmaninoff’s final completed composition is both vibrant and melancholic with the spirit of Russia and dance intertwined.



 John Adams (b.1947)           

The Chairman Dances: Foxtrot for Orchestra (1985)


Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992), orchestration by John Adams

La Mufa (Tango) (1995) for violin and orchestra

Todo Buenos Aires (Tango) (1996) for violin and orchestra


David Fennessy (b. 1976)     

This is how it feels (Another Bolero) (2007/2009)


Sergei Rachmaninoff    (1873-1943)       

Symphonic Dances, Op. 45