big_band_4 big_band_7 big_band_9 big_band_11 aladin_1 aladin_11 header_4 header_3

11, 12 & 13 Nov - Afterlight Chamber Music Series
Afterlight Chamber Music Series Image


Tues 11 November, Weds 12 November AND Thurs 13 November, 1.05pm (pre-concert talks 12.30pm)

National Concert Hall, John Field Room, Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin 2

Tickets: 1 concert - €10 (Concessions €8) | 2 concerts - €15 (Concessions €12) | 3 concerts - €20 (Concessions €16)

National Concert Hall Box Office, www.nch.ie01 417 0000

Afterlight (n): a view of past events, a retrospective. A series of chamber music concerts, performed by staff and graduates of DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama, focusing on music in France during and between the First and Second World Wars, including music by Debussy, Ravel, Satie, Auric, Durey, Honegger, Milhaud, Poulenc, Tailleferre and Messiaen. Each concert is introduced by a pre-concert talk at 12.30pm presented by lecturers from DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama: Dr Mark Fitzgerald on music and conflict in Europe, Dr David Mooney on Eric Satie and Les Six, and Dr Paul McNulty on the Music of Messiaen.

Tuesday 11th November 2014, 1.05pm 
Debussy and Ravel
Pre-Concert Talk: Dr Mark Fitzgerald “Music and Conflict”
Debussy Sonata in D minor for Cello and Piano (1915) 
Debussy Six épigraphes antiques (1914-15), for piano four hands 
Ravel Sonata for Violin and Cello (1920-22) 
Performers: Christopher Marwood (cello), Pádhraic Ó Cuinneagáin (piano), Celine Kelly, Edward Holly, Mary Scarlett, David Mooney (pianos), Gillian Williams (violin), Arun Rao (cello) 

Wednesday 12th November 2014 
Ibert, Satie and Les Six
Pre-Concert Talk: Dr David Mooney “Satie and Les Six”
Ibert Trois pièces brèves (1930), for wind quintet 
The Music of Erik Satie and Les Six 
Milhaud La Cheminée du roi René (1939), for wind quintet 
Performers: Ciaran O’Connell (flute), Sile Daly (oboe), Paul Roe (clarinet), John Hearne (bassoon), Ian Dakin(horn), Kevin Hanafin (saxophone), Dermot Dunne (accordion), Laoise O’Brien (recorder), Clíona Doris (harp) 

Thursday 13th November 2014 
Milhaud, Poulenc and Messiaen
Pre-Concert Talk: Dr Paul McNulty “The Music of Messiaen”
Milhaud Suite for violin, clarinet and piano (1936), arranged for violin, clarinet and accordion
Poulenc Sonata for Piano Four Hands (1918, rev. 1939) 
Messiaen “Abîme des oiseaux”, for solo clarinet, from Quatuor pour la fin du temps (1940-41) 
¿Messiaen Thème et variations (1932), for violin and piano ¿
Performers: Shirin Goudarzi-Tobin (piano), Danusia Oslizlok (piano), David O’Doherty (violin), Paul Roe (clarinet),Dermot Dunne (accordion), Catherina Lemoni-O’Doherty (piano)