big_band_4 big_band_7 big_band_9 big_band_11 aladin_1 aladin_11 header_4 header_3

November 10-12: Afterlight: Music of Ireland, 1890-2015


Tuesday 10 November, Wednesday 11 November AND Thursday 12 November, 1.05pm (pre-concert talks 12.30pm)

National Concert Hall, John Field Room, Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin 2

Tickets: 1 concert - €10 (Concessions €8) | 2 concerts - €15 (Concessions €12) | 3 concerts - €20 (Concessions €16)
National Concert Hall Box Office,, 01 417 0000 

Afterlight (n): a view of past events, a retrospective
In celebration of the 125th anniversary of DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama, the Afterlight Chamber Music and Lecture Series will focus on the Music of Ireland, 1890-2015.  Featuring staff and graduates of the Conservatory, the chamber music concerts will include works by Charles Villiers Stanford, John F. Larchet, Ina Boyle, Hamilton Harty, Arnold Bax, Frederick May, Raymond Deane, Gerard Barry, Jane O’Leary, David Fennessy, Patrick Egan, Benjamin Dwyer and Grainne Mulvey.

Each concert is curated and introduced in a pre-concert talk at 12.30pm by lecturers from DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama: Maria McHale, Mark Fitzgerald and Clíona Doris.                            

Tuesday 10th November 2015, 1.05pm

12.30pm    Pre-Concert Talk:         Dr Maria McHale

Charles Villiers Stanford               Selections from ‘Irish Airs’
John F. Larchet                              Selections from ‘Irish Airs’
Odhrán O Casaide (violin), Catherina Lemoni-O’Doherty (piano)

Charles Villiers Stanford               The Fairy Lough
Hamilton Harty                              Sea Wrack
Ina Boyle                                       Sleep Song (Déirín Dé)
Frederick May                                An Irish Love Song
David Scott (baritone), Una Hunt (piano) 

Frederick May                                Idyll
David O’Doherty (violin), Catherina Lemoni-O’Doherty (piano)

Arnold Bax                                     Elegiac Trio (1916)
Julie Maisel (Flute), David O’Doherty (viola), Clíona Doris (harp) 

Concert 2: Wednesday 11th November 2015

12.30pm    Pre-Concert Talk:         Dr Mark Fitzgerald 

Frederick May                                The Traveller (1940), Communion (c1940), Brinscombe  (c1940)
David Howes (baritone), Una Hunt (piano)

Frederick May                                Hesperus (c1929), North Labrador (1940)
Colette McGahon-Tosh (mezzo-soprano), Una Hunt (piano)  

Gerard Victory                               Cinque Correlazioni (1966)
Catherina Lemoni-O’Doherty (piano) 

Raymond Deane                              Apreslude (1979)
Keith Pascoe (conductor), Julie Maisel (flute/piccolo), Pablo Manjón-Cabezas Guzmán (clarinet/bass clarinet), Clíona Doris (harp), David O’Doherty (viola), Arun Rao (cello), Noel Eccles (percussion)

Gerald Barry                                  ____________ (1979)
Keith Pascoe (conductor), Pablo Manjón-Cabezas Guzmán, Shane Kenrick (clarinets), David O’Doherty (viola), Arun Rao (cello), Noel Eccles (marimba), Danusia Oslizlok (piano)

Concert 3: Thursday 12th November 2015

12.30pm    Pre-Concert Talk:         Dr Clíona Doris 

Jane O’Leary                                  Duo for Alto Flute and Guitar (1995)
Ciaran O’Connell (alto flute,) John Feeley (guitar)

David Fennessy                              Continuity Error (2002, rev.2003)
Ciaran O’Connell (flute,) John Feeley (guitar)

Patrick Egan                                   Where There Were Wolves (2015)
Pablo Manjón-Cabezas Guzmán (clarinet) and electronics

Benjamin Dwyer                             Pasillos from ‘Voces Criticas’ (2004)
Pavlos Kanellakis (guitar)

Grainne Mulvey                             interstices (2011)
Keith Pascoe (conductor), Ciaran O’Connell (Flute), Pablo Manjón-Cabezas Guzmán (clarinet), Ian Dakin (French horn), Gillian Williams (violin), Arun Rao (cello), Edward Holly (piano)