Archive - News


SEEE Sumo Robots victorious at 2015 BT Young Scientist and Technology Exhibition

DIT engineering student, Thomas Snella (DT066) won the 3rd National Robo Sumo Intervarsity competition which was held during the 2015 BT Young Scientist and Technology Exhibition. The final bouts of the competition were held in front of an audience of several hundred enthusiastic spectators in the "Robot World" arena in the RDS.  As a result of winning the Irish competition, Thomas will now go on to represent DIT and Ireland at the European Robot Challenge later this year.


Thomas Snella, Winner of the 3rd National Robo Sumo Intervarsity Competion and Inga Shcherbakova at the BT Young Scientist and Technology Exhibition

A cross-disciplinary team of DIT engineers (Seamus McLu (DT008), Aoife Redmond (DT009), Samantha Williams (DT021) and David White (DT006)) won 2nd place in the competition, while a team of DT021 electrical/electronic engineering students (Michael O Meara and Alex Herizon) made the semi-finals of the competition. 

As part of the BY Young Scientist, a group of staff and students from SEEE (pictured below) delivered an advanced version of the RoboSlam workshop for undergraduate engineers on Friday 9 January 2015. The goal of this advanced workshop was to exhibit robot-building while helping undergraduate students from TCD, UCD and DIT (and some adept young engineering enthusiasts from Scoil Caitriona in Glasnevin), to construct and test miniature autonomous robots in advance of the Robo Sumo Intervarsity competition on Saturday. The SEEE group of expert volunteers collaborated on this venture with members of the Robotics Research Group in TCD.


SEEE Group of Staff and Students at ROBSumo Workshop, (back row) Paula Kelly, Ted Burke, Frank Duignan, Shane Ormonde, John McGrory, Shannon Chance, (front row) Damon Berry and Ruth Coffey

The engineering activity at the RoboSlam workshop on Friday was viewed by hundreds of students and teachers who were visiting the Robot World exhibit in the Big Top at the RDS.  The RoboSlam workshop format is a spin off a the more extensive Engineering Practice and Design project which is part of undergraduate courses in SEEE.

Four carefully-prepared DIT robots were entered into the Robo Sumo Intervarsity competition, against an equal number of sumo bots from TCD, UCD and others. After 90 minutes of robo sumo bouts, the three DIT robots emerged as victors, with Thomas' robot winning the overall prize of a trip to Vienna to the European Robot Challenge. TCD Robotics, who were the previous winners of the competition, have vowed to come back in force next year for the 2016 competition which we expect will build on the success of 2015.

Success for SEEE at National Skills Competition

The School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, DIT has had further success at the National Skills Competition. Martin Tully has won the Industrial Control Competition and was awarded the ESB perpetual trophy. Martin undertook his Phase 4 training within the School while an employee of ESB and is now a DT009 BEngTech in Electrical and Control Engineering student in the School. Martin was mentored by Colm Agnew from SEEE who is a Chief National Expert in the area of  Industrial Control. Martin put in a sterling effort and after a gruelling competition came through as the winner. Other SEEE students who competed were Colm Pendergast (who also completed Phase 4 in SEEE and is currently a DT009 student) and John O’Connor in the Electrical Installations Competition (Phase 6 student in SEEE and employed by Mercury Engineering).  John was mentored by SEEE lecturer, Paul Marah. On a related note, Paul was recently elected as National Chief Examiner for Electrical Installations.

Colm Agnew (DIT), Martin Tully, Breege Tully and Lorraine Tully


Martin Tully (DIT), Colm Pendregast (DIT), Colm Agnew (DIT), John O'Mahony ( CIT), & Liam Buttler (WIT)


DT021 Graduate, James Kelly wins Best Project Award from ISA

Mr James Kelly, a graduate of the BE in Electrical and Electronic Engineering (DT021) in 2014 has won the Best Final Year Degree Award for a student specializing in the area of Automation, Instrumentation or Control. The Prize was awarded by the International Society of Automation (ISA) Ireland Section at the ISA Annual Honours and Awards event which was held in UCC on 10 December 2014. Mr Gavin Duffy from the School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, DIT supervised James for his final year project which had the title "Process Control and Automation of a Batch Reactor". James is currently a graduate Substation Design Engineer with ESB International. Dr Mick McKeever represented SEEE at the Honours and Awards event.


Dr Mick McKeever (DIT), Mr Alan Bateman (ISA Ireland President), Mr James Kelly, Councillor John Sheehan (Cork City CC)

 Dr Mick McKeever, PI on Recently Completed DIT-IERC Energy Storage Project

Dr Mick McKeever, School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, recently completed an energy storage project for the International Energy Research Centre (IERC). The project was funded by Enterprise Ireland. The photo shows Damien English TD, Minister of State at the Departments of Education and Skills and Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation With Special Responsibility for Skills, Research and Innovation, Dr. Mick Mc Keever, School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering DIT and Prof. Tony Day Executive Director of the International Energy Research Centre (IERC) discussing the DIT-IERC project at the Enterprise Ireland Innovation Showcase 2014 in the Convention Centre Dublin on 2 December 2014.


Mr Damien English, Dr Mick McKeever, Prof Tony Day

Dr Mark Davis on Marian Finu‌cane Show, RTE Ra‌dio 1, 15 November 2014

Dr Mark Davis, Assistant Head of the School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, DIT, appeared as a guest on the Marian Finucane Show on Saturday 15 November.  Mark was invited on the show as an expert guest to discuss wireless broadband issues, specifically performance and security. You can hear the podcast here.

Back to Top

     Find us on Facebook      Follow us on Twitter      Follow us on LinkedIn

Member of the European University Association