Researchers in the IPBRC

The Centre for Biomimetic and Therapeutic Research (CBTR) at the College of Sciences and Health and the Focas Research Institute at the Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT) is currently comprised of four academic staff researchers, one postdoctoral researcher and six PhD postgraduate researchers. Nine PhD students have graduated to date.

Principal Investigators:

Professor Michael Devereux 

Director & Dean of the College of Sciences and Health at DIT and a founding member of the Focas Research Institute, Professor Devereux leads the development of new inorganic chemotherapeutic drugs for applications as antimicrobial and anticancer agents.  He has extensive experience in the synthesis and characterisation of inorganic materials and the evaluation of the biomimetic properties such as Superoxide Dismutase (SOD) and Catalase (CAT) activities both of which have implications for the mode of action of selected metal based therapeutics.

Dr Mary McNamara

Head of DIT's Graduate Research School, Dr McNamara is a founding member of the Focas Research Institute. She has extensive experience in spectroscopic characterisation of new materials, developing drug purification techniques and in designing novel drug delivery systems. 

Dr Christine O’Connor

Assistant Head of the School of Food Science & Environmental Health and researcher, Dr O'Connor has experience in the synthesis and design of novel drug delivery systems and also a strong background in inorganic synthesis, purification methods and spectroscopic characterisation of metallocomplexes. Dr O’Connor also has a strong interest in linking research with the undergraduate curriculum both in theory, practice and using ICT. 

Dr Denis O’Shea

A researcher and lecturer based in the School of Food Science and Environmental Health, Dr O'Shea has expertise in inorganic synthesis and developing methods for evaluating antimicrobial activities of novel drugs with particular emphasis on antifungal properties.

Postdoctoral Researcher

Dr Andrew Kellett

Current PhD Postgraduate Researchers

Vidya Dixit

Gary Hessman

Samar Moqudasi

Laura Perdisatt

Anne Shanahan

Zlata Tofzikovskaya

Aja Tsan

Postgraduate Researchers Completed 2005 - 2009


Antonio Clementi MPhil

Cogan MPhil


Muath Atmeh PhD

Patrick Lynch PhD


Ciaran Potter PhD

Mark O’Connor PhD


Julien Longchamps PhD


Denis O’Shea PhD

Rachel Kelly MPhil