IT Security Policies

Information Services - IT Security Policies

The DIT has adopted the UCISA Information Security Toolkit as the framework for its information security policies. This toolkit draws heavily on the British Standard BS 7799 which was also the main source of the international standard ISO 27002. The toolkit comprises sixteen sections which are listed below. The Institute will have a policy for each section adapted to its needs. Each policy will also refer to associated procedures and guidance notes that are relevant to the policy.


A. Information security policy and infrastructure (parent security policy)

B. Business continuity management and planning

C. Compliance

E. Personnel

F. Operations

G. Information handling

H. User management

I. Use of computers

J. System planning

K. System management

L. Network Management

M. Software management

N. Mobile computing

O. Teleworking

P. Cryptography


Back to Top

     Find us on Facebook      Follow us on Twitter      Follow us on LinkedIn

Member of the European University Association