Gaeilge

About the Music & Drama Library 

  The library at Rathmines supports the students and staff of the Conservatory of Music and Drama.  The library collection is performance based and comprises over 18,000 scores, 8,000 books and about 6,000 sound recordings. The library also houses a collection of DVDs in both music and Drama.

Contact the Library

Address: 

 

Phone:
Fax:
Email:

Music & Drama Library
Dublin Institute of Technology
Rathmines Road Lwr., Dublin 6

402 3461 
402 7859
rmh.library@dit.ie


View Larger Map

Staff

 Catherine Cooke  Librarian   402 3461   catherine.cooke@dit.ie 
 Kathy Egan  Assistant Librarian  402 3462  kathy.egan@dit.ie 
 Wanda Carin  Acquisitions  402 3461   wanda.carin@dit.ie
 Sharon Hoefig  Interlibrary Loans  402 3461  sharon.hoefig@dit.ie
 Lorraine Lawlor  Serials  402 3461  lorraine.lawlor@dit.ie
 Catherine Ferris   Music Cataloguer   402 3461  catherine.ferris@dit.ie

Services and Facilities

Borrowing and Circulation

 Loan Periods
  • Undergraduate students - 6 items for 14 days
  • Taught Postgraduates - 10 items for 28 days
  • Research Postgraduates - 10 items for 90 days
  • Staff - 15 items for 90 days
  • External Readers - 2 items for 28 days
  • Part Time students - 6 items for 28 days
 Renewals
  • Main lending items may be renewed once
  • Audio visual materials and short loan items cannot be renewed
 Fines
  • Standard Loans - 30c per day
  • Short loan - 50c per hour
  • Audiovisual - 30c per hour

 

Collections

Main Lending:    The Main Lending collection consists of both books and scores. They are located behind the study area.
Short Loan:   The Short Loan collection consists of books and some scores. These items may be borrowed for 24 hours.
 Audiovisual: CDs The library has a collection of over 4000 CDs. These are located in the CD cabinets beside the issue desk. You can listen to CDs in the Listening Room or in the Computer Room. Headphones are available at the issue desk. CDs may be borrowed by staff and postgraduate students.
  DVDs The DVDs are situated in the Listening Room. They can be viewed on the PCs or in the Listening Room. Again, headphones are available at the desk.  DVDs may be borrowed by staff and postgraduate students.
Reference:   The Reference Collection is situated in the Reference Room. These books are for library use only. 

 

 

Printing and Photocopying

The Library has 2 black and white Printer/photocopiers and they are located in the Computer Room. Information on how to use these machines is available here.

Interlibrary Loans

Books, journal articles and theses not held in the library can be obtained from other libraries. Further information on this service is available here. Forms can be downloaded here.

Back to Top