DIT students of Transport Technology have yet again won top awards for their innovative ideas in the area of transport safety and logistics. This is the fourth successive year in which DIT students have been winners at the annual Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport 'Student Idea of the Year' awards.

From left: Damien Joyce, Paul O'Donnell, Colm Nohilly, Aiden Costello, and Declan Allen, Lecturer.

The award ceremony was hosted this year by the Faculty of Business in DIT Aungier Street, and the awards were presented by Mr. Gerry Coughlan, President of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport.

DIT students were winners and runners- up in both the 'Safety' category and in the 'Road' category. The winners were:

  • 'Logistics & Transport Safety Idea of the Year'

Paul O'Donnell, a 2nd year student, won the Award for his idea for an 'Automated taxi and runway incursion prevention system' which would use existing on-board technology to provide pilots with a preventative warning system which would help them to take corrective action to avoid runway collision.

Aiden Costello, a first year student, was Runner-up in this category. His idea was the development of a 'Smartcard License and Ignition System' which would store details of the holder's driving status and would be used

  • Logistics & Transport 'Road Mode' Idea of the Year

Colm Nohilly, first year student, was the winner in the Road category with his 'Electronic Public Transport Card'. This idea proposes the issuing of an Electronic Public Transport Card to every licensed driver, and offering them a reduction on their annual car-tax based on their uses of public transport in the previous year.The runner-up in this category was Damien Joyce, also a first year student, whose idea for a 'Travel Ease Card' introduces a new method of paying city bus fares using a scanner card, which would be faster and more convenient than existing mechanisms.

Declan Allen, lecturer on DIT's Transport Technology programme, said he was delighted that DIT students had done so well in the Awards, which is an important annual event. He also congratulated the other award winners from NUI Galway.

During the Awards Ceremony, the Institute also presented Dr. John de Courcy Ireland with an International Honorary Fellowship in recognition his outstanding contribution to maritime matters both at home and abroad.

27 March 2003

Back to Top