Honorary Doctorates from Dublin Institute of Technology

Pierce Brosnan and Eddie Jordan awarded Honorary Doctorates from Dublin Institute of Technology

Joyce O'Connor, President National College of Ireland and Noel Lindsay, noted educationalist also receive Honorary DIT Degrees23 June, 2003

Pierce Brosnan and Eddie Jordan were, today, among four distinguished figures who received an Honorary Doctorate from Dublin Institute of Technology at a formal ceremony held in the Royal Hospital Kilmainham.

Internationally acclaimed Irish actor Pierce Brosnan received an Honorary Doctorate for his outstanding achievements in the arts. Eddie Jordan, founder of the Jordan Grand Prix team, was recognised for his contribution to international sport and his role as an Irish sporting ambassador.

In conferring the Honorary Doctorate on Brosnan, Dr. Brendan Goldsmith, DIT President said 'DIT is honouring Pierce's great distinction as an Irishman who enjoys world renown for his acting career; as a humanitarian who has given his support to causes in which he believes strongly; and as a successful entrepreneur who generates significant business activity in Ireland through the film productions he brings here'.

Eddie Jordan, a DIT Alumnus, was honoured for his exceptional contribution to Irish and world sporting life and for his continued support of charitable causes. According to Dr. Goldsmith; 'The Doctorate acknowledges Eddie's uniquely innovative personality, business acumen and unflinching self-belief that has seen him propel his team to considerable success within the cut throat world of Formula One and, in doing so, become one of the most successful Irish entrepreneurs of today'. Two people who have made significant contributions to the development of education in Ireland were also honoured by DIT - Mr. Noel Lindsay, former Secretary General of the Department of Education & Science and of the HEA, and Professor Joyce O'Connor, President of the National College of Ireland.

In his address Dr. Goldsmith lauded Lindsay as 'a tremendous force for change and progress in Irish education'. He noted that Lindsay has not only been incredibly influential in the planning and development of Irish education, but he is also highly respected in many other areas of the world where he has served as a policy adviser on behalf of the World Bank and OECD.

Professor Joyce O'Connor received an Honorary Doctorate for her commitment to education in Ireland, for her role as both an educator and a leader in education. Dr. Goldsmith honoured Joyce as 'a strong individual who has done what many others have talked about doing. She has vision; ideas; exuberance; the courage to take on daunting projects; and more importantly the skill and determination to see them through to completion. The development of NCI, its strategic positioning in the Irish education system and its new campus at the IFSC are all testaments to her drive and conviction'.

According to Dr. Goldsmith 'This evening's recipients of Honorary Doctorates are being recognised for the role that they have played in their respective disciplines and the positive contribution that they have made to our society. Their major contribution has not only been through artistic endeavors, the advancement of our education system, and entrepreneurial success but, more fundamentally, it has been through highlighting the worth of extreme hard work backed by a great sense of purpose'.

Addressing the recipients at the ceremony, Dr. Goldsmith said; 'Your contribution to society is undeniable; your unique ability to envisage the future, break new ground and succeed in the face of adversity is why we are immensely honoured and proud to include you among Dublin Institute of Technology's distinguished honorary graduates'.

A particularly memorable occasion for Dr. Goldsmith, as his term of office as President soon comes to an end, he commented; 'The role of President in DIT is a continually changing post and one which I have been privileged and proud to hold. For however brief a time, it has facilitated my involvement in the history of one of the most distinguished and dynamic institutes of higher education in the country'.

The ceremony was the fourth annual conferring of honorary degrees by DIT. Nominations for the Institute's honorary degrees can be submitted by any member of staff in DIT to the Honorary Degrees Committee. A candidate may be conferred with an honorary degree on the basis of academic distinction; service to the community; service to business or industry; service to education; cultural, artistic or sporting achievement.

Previous recipients of Honorary Doctorates from Dublin Institute of Technology have included the Taoiseach, Bertie Ahern; educationalist, Salters Sterling; football hero, Niall Quinn; journalist and broadcaster, Marian Finucane; composer Bill Whelan; sports star, Sonia O'Sullivan; Former President of Ireland, Mary Robinson; and Former provost of Trinity College, Dr. Tom Mitchell.

Back to Top