DIT confers former colleagues with Honorary Fellowships

Dublin 02 December, 2004:    Three former colleagues, whose names have been synonymous with the development of DIT for many decades, were conferred with Honorary Fellowships at a special ceremony in DIT Bolton Street on Thursday 2nd December, 2004.  

The trio honoured were:

Frank Brennan; formerly a lecturer in Kevin Street in 1951, he then became DIT's first Academic Registrar, Principal of Kevin Street and finally the first Director of the Faculty of Engineering.

Hugh de Lacy; who also began his career as a lecturer in Kevin Street before becoming Principal in 1963 - a position he held until his retirement in 1982.

Michael O'Donnell; who first joined the CDVEC as a lecturer in Mechanical Engineering in Bolton Street.  He became Bolton Street Principal in 1980. He was also Director of DIT before serving as an indispensable Deputy President from 1993-95, playing a major role in the establishment of the new autonomous institution.

Frank, Hugh and Michael were chosen for this special honour because of their achievements and the exceptional service they have given to DIT.

Honouring the award recipients, the President, Professor Brian Norton said:    The awarding of Honorary Fellowships is a fitting opportunity to recognise and celebrate the dedication and commitment of  individuals to DIT. Frank, Hugh and Michael, through their years of service, have been the driving forces of DIT. They have given tirelessly of themselves.  They have worked to mould, maintain and enhance DIT's traditions. They have dedicated themselves to high ideals, and in doing so, have earned the respect and affection of their peers.

 Thursday's ceremony provided an opportunity not only to celebrate the achievements of these distinguished gentlemen, but also to celebrate the continued development of the Institute and the considerable role it plays in the domain of Irish education.

Back to Top