Outstanding achievement honoured at DIT Annual Sports Awards

The DIT Annual Sports Awards were held last week to acknowledge outstanding sporting achievements by DIT students, both in college clubs and nationally.  Seated at the top table with Professor Brian Norton and guest of honour Gerry Kiernan, were two Irish Gold medal winners ? David Gillick, who had just won gold in the 400 metres at the European Indoor Championships in Madrid; and Lee Murphy, who won gold and silver in the World Universities Equestrian Championships in Tokyo last December.  Both sportsmen received ?All Star? awards on Tuesday night.

?All Star? awards were also presented to swimmer Anthony O?Toole, who is Irish Junior Champion in the 50, 100 and 200 metre breaststroke; and to John Jermyn, a member of the Irish Senior Hockey squad who has been capped 19 times for Ireland and was a member of the Munster team that won the Senior Provincial title.

Club Executive of the year was won by Padraig Mahon, of the DIT Rugby Club, and the ?Most Improved club? title was won by the Ladies? Soccer Club who won their league for the third year in a row and will be promoted to the premier league next year.  Outstanding Martial Arts Award was won by Vito Zhang, of the Shaolin Kempo Karate Club. 

Matt O?Connor accepted the ?Club of the Year? Award on behalf of the Karting Club.

The Awards were presented by Gerry Kiernan, former marathon runner, and sports commentator on athletics for RTE.

The Awards night was organised by the Sports Unit and Niamh O?Callaghan and was a huge success, with lots of amazing achievements to celebrate.

Gerry Kiernan;  All Star and Gold Medal winner, David Gillick; Professor Brian Norton

Lee Murphy receiving his All Star Award from Gerry Kiernan and Professor Brian Norton

Swimmer Anthony O'Toole receives All Star Award, with Gerry Kiernan and Professor Brian Norton

John Jermyn, Irish hockey squad member, with Gerry Kiernan and Professor Brian Norton

Padraig Mahon, DIT Rugby Club - 'Club Executive of the Year'

DIT's Ladies' Soccer Team, with (left) manager Stephen Dempsey, DIT Cathal Brugha Street - 'Most Improved Club'

Vito Zhang, Shaolin Kempo Karate Club receives the 'Outstanding Martial Arts' Award

Matt O'Connor of DIT's Karting Club which won Club of the Year

DIT's sub-aqua club members, with Des Hayes, School of Physics, enjoying the Sports Awards evening

Back to Top