CREST wins Commercialisation Award

24 November, Dublin: DIT's Centre for Research in Engineering Surface Technology (CREST) has received a Commercialisation Award from Enterprise Ireland. The Award is in recognition of CREST's licensing agreement with Fleetwood Sherwin Williams for a project on 'Self-stratifying Coatings.' The project was led by Dr. John Colreavy, funded as a PRP project by Enterprise Ireland, derived from an EU FP5 framework research.

The awards were presented by Jim Lawler, Director of Enterprise Ireland's Industrial Technologies Commercialisation Programme, who said: 'The academic researchers and research institutions that have been recognised today are an excellent example of the potential for domestic research excellence to translate into commercial success.'

Fleetwood Sherwin Williams was represented by Mr. Patrick McCrudden, Chief Chemist. Speaking on behalf of Mr. Michael Clowes, General Manager - Technical and Industrial Divisions for FSW Coatings Ltd. he said, 'We enjoy an excellent relationship with colleagues in CREST who provide an extra dimension to our resources and an additional springboard in our quest for innovation through research. We look forward to further collaborations with this helpful and dynamic team'.

Also attending the event were President of DIT, Professor Brian Norton; Director of Research DIT, Dr Stephen Jerrams and Head of Commercialisation DIT Mr Tom Flanagan. Congratulating the CREST team, Professor Norton said that DIT has a very pro-active approach to building successful links with industry. 'CREST is an excellent example of that approach, working closely as it does with industry and external funding agencies to provide leading-edge innovation services. We are delighted that the excellent work carried out by Dr. Colreavy and his colleagues has been acknowledged by this award.'

CREST colleagues Dr John Colreavy, Dr Brendan Duffy and the key researcher on the project, Mr Niall Stobie were present at the Awards ceremony. Other institutions to receive awards included Dublin City University, University College Dublin, Trinity College Dublin and University College Cork, among others.

From left to right: Mr Jim Lawler, Dr Stephen Jerrams, Mr Tom Flanagan, Dr John Colreavy, Mr Niall Stobie Professor Brian Norton.

Back to Top