DIT's senior hurlers make history in Fitzgibbon Cup

DIT 2-10 St. Pat's 0-15

The DIT senior hurlers qualified for the Fitzgibbon Cup semi final for the first time in the college's history on Thursday following a dramatic one point victory over St. Pat's Drumcondra. The teacher training college were clear favourites before the game and fielded a formidable line up which included young hurler of the year James 'Cha' Fitzpatrick at midfield and his fellow Kilkenny senior players Richie Power, Paddy Hogan and Richie Hogan.

However, DIT's determination and 'never-say-die' attitude saw them overcome St. Pat's by the narrowest of margins. Property economics student Kevin O'Reilly was the star for DIT hitting 1-8 from dead balls including a penalty, seven frees and one 65.

DIT started the sharper in the opening half. Business student Declan O'Dwyer was fouled for a penalty which O'Reilly converted to give DIT a one point lead at half time 1-4 to 0-6.

St Pat's dominated the early exchanges from the restart and points from Ger Arthur and 'Cha' Fitzpatrick sent them into a three-point lead, 0-12 to 1-6, on 45 minutes.

Electrical apprentice Kilkenny's Willy O'Dwyer led the comeback for DIT. The half forward set up Engineering student Eamon Clarke with a ball out wide. Clarke set off on a mazy run from the left wing and finished with a goal to put DIT two points in front. This was followed by a St Pat's onslaught on the DIT fullback line. However, the DIT lads held out to secure an historic semi- final date against NUIG in Carlow this Friday.

Fitzgibbon Cup Semi Final: DIT V NUIG Friday 9th March at 12:30pm in Carlow IT. All support welcome.

SCORERS - DIT: K O'Reilly 1-8 (1-0 pen, 7f, 1 '65); E Clarke 1-0; W O'Dwyer, N Kelly 0-1 each. St Pat's: G Arthur 0-5 (3f); R Power (3f, 1 65), R Hogan (1s, 1f) 0-4 each; J Fitzpatrick, M Walsh 0-1 each.

DIT - D Flynn; J Doran, A Gaynor, P Breen; W Lyons, J Walsh, T Corcoran; E Connolly, D Kennedy; E Clarke, W O'Dwyer, S Lehane; K O'Reilly, D O'Dwyer, J Clarke. Subs: B McEvoy for Lehane; N Kelly for E Clarke.

ST PAT'S - J Codd; C Lawlor, M Heffernan, J Robinson; P Hogan, R Maher, B Dillon; J Fitzpatrick, R Power; S Howard, E O'Donoghue, B Doyle; G Arthur, R Hogan, M Walsh. Sub: J Sheanon for Walsh.

Back to Top