DIT Annual DIT Sports Awards 2007

The annual DIT Sports Awards took place on Thursday 29th of March in Croke Park. The awards, established to acknowledge the outstanding sporting achievements of DIT sports clubs and their members, is now in its tenth year.

DIT Hurling Club, the Club of the Year

Special guest on the night was Olympic gold medallist, Mr. Ronnie Delany who won gold for Ireland in the 1956 Olympics in Melbourne. Other guests in attendance included President of DIT, Professor Brian Norton, sports coaching personnel and volunteers, and DIT student sports club members. The awards were sponsored by Allied Irish Bank and Marathon Coaches.

Ronnie Delany and Stephen Roache

On the night DIT recognised and rewarded the outstanding achievements and contributions that both individuals and groups have made to sport at the Institute. There were 12 awards presented from individual All-Star Awards to the best Club of the Year Award.

Left to right: President Brian Norton, Ronnie Delany, Dr Mike Murphy, Director and Dean of the Faculty of Engineering

DIT Sports Awards Winners 2006/07:

4 All-Star Award Winners

Stephen Roache - plays for Bray Wanderers FC and the DIT Soccer Club. He has been short-listed for the Irish squad and will compete in the World Student Games in Bangkok later this year.

Kevin O'Reilly - plays for Lucan Sarsfields Hurling Club and the DIT Hurling Club. He was also awarded the first ever Third Level All-Star from the GAA, and in doing so has become the first ever Dublin Hurler to achieve such an honour.

Ronnie Delany and Kevin O'Reilly

John Walsh - plays for Ballinakill Club in Laois and the DIT Hurling Club. He was also awarded with a third level all-star from the GAA this year.

Eoin Nolan - a member of both St. Vincent's Club Waterpolo Club and the DIT Swimming & Waterpolo Club. He will compete with the Irish senior squad in the European Championships, which will take place in Manchester in July. Eoin was also awarded a highly prestigious award as runner-up deaf sportsman in the World for the Year 2007.

President Brian Norton and John Walsh

Club Executive of the Year

Paddy Jones of the DIT Rugby Club

Left to right: Deirdre Corcoran, Paddy Jones, Ronnie Delany

Outstanding Contribution to the development of sport at DIT

Graham Cullen - DIT Swimming & Waterpolo Club

Irene Walsh - DIT Swimming & Waterpolo Club

Tim Cunningham - DIT Ski Club

Dave Brody - DIT Ski Club

Ronnie Delany and Graham Cullen

Ronnie Delany, Dave Bridy and Tim Cunningham

Most Improved Club

DIT Swimming and Waterpolo Club

DIT Swimming and Waterpolo Club presented with 'Most Improved Club' award

Event of the Year

DIT Judo Club

DIT Judo Club presented with 'Event of the Year' award

Club of the Year

The DIT Hurling Club after their outstanding achievements this year in winning the Kehoe Cup and qualifying for the final stages of the Fitzgibbon Cup for the first time in the history of the Institute.

DIT Basketball Club

Back to Top