DIT photographers scoop SMEDIA awards

The annual Student Media Awards were presented at a ceremony last Thursday, 02 April, and DIT student photographers swept the boards, winning Photographer of the Year, News Photographer of the Year and Sports Photographer of the Year.  In addition, the award for Best Short Film went to DIT student Rouzbeh Rashidi, making it a very successful night for DIT media students.  Being shortlisted for the awards offer an excellent opportunity to be showcased among the best young media in Ireland and a calling card for award winners.  The four DIT winners were awarded in the following categories:  

Short Film of the year -Sponsored by Movies @ Cinemas:  The Short Film of the Year will be awarded to the film that shows the greatest imagination and production values despite budgetary and other limitations.
Winner: Rouzbeh Rashidi

Photographer of the year-Sponsored by Nokia:

Story Smedias 2009 3

Awarded to one individual for an outstanding sample of photography produced since April 1st, 2008. The judges will be looking for excellence in composition, subject matter and for startling images.
Winner: Peter Murray  

News photographer of the year-Sponsored by Nokia:

Story Smedias 2009 2

Awarded to the photographer best capturing news events and current affairs on camera. The work should either have been published in the student press OR be the work of a full-time student, in which case the work can be unpublished, but of publishable quality.
Winner: Ronan Johns

Sports Photographer of the year-Sponsored by Nokia:

Story Smedias 2009 1

Awarded for the most dynamic, creative and technically impressive pieces of the year ? published or unpublished.
Winner: Rob O?Connor

Back to Top