Winner of the 2010 Hamilton Award for Mathematics


Nicolas Canny, Jenny Young, Michael Cardiff and Robert Merton

26th October 2010

Each year the Royal Irish Academy presents Awards to students of Mathematics in nine of the Higher Education Institutions in Ireland.  The recipients of the Hamilton Award in Mathematics receive a scroll and €1000 cheque, generously sponsored by Invest Northern Ireland.  This year, for the first time, honours degree students from DIT were eligible for the award and the first DIT winner of the Hamilton Award is Michael Cardiff, who his now in his final year of the BSc in Mathematical Sciences. 

Each year the presentation of Awards forms part of Hamilton Day activities at the RIA which celebrate Hamilton?s life and contribution to mathematics.  This usually takes place on or around October 16th, the anniversary of the day Hamilton scratched his fundamental formula for quaternion multiplication on Broome Bridge in Dublin.  This year the Awards Ceremony  was held in Academy House on Friday, October 15th 2010, the day before the anniversary of Hamilton's famous walk.


DIT Winner Michael Cardiff with the winners of the RIA Hamilton Award for Mathematics from TCD, UCD, UCC, NUIG, NUIM, UL, DIT, DCU and QUB:

 Back Row L-R :Ruadhai Dervan, James Blair, Ciaran Hughes, Gillian Kissane, Gerard Moran

 Front Row L-R: Michael Cardiff, Siobhan Mc Donnell, Nicholas Canny, Jenny Young, Robert Merton, Linda Mawhinney, Mark Ross-Lonergan

Nine prizes were awarded this year. Each mathematics department (TCD, UCD, UCC, NUIG, NUIM, UL, DIT, DCU, QUB) were invited to nominate its "best" student in the penultimate year of undergraduate mathematical studies. It is not envisaged that the award within each HEI be restricted to "single honours" students of Mathematics, or indeed that any special competition be devised. The selection of the best student was based either on the results of the annual assessment of the year?s performance or on the best performance in the ordinary institution examinations in Mathematics at the end of the penultimate year. In DIT, Michael Cardiff was selected on the basis of the highest average grades in Mathematics in the Institute.

All nine prize-winners, who are now in their final year of study, attended the ceremony to receive their prestigious awards. 

Back to Top