Top athletes honoured at DIT Sports Awards Gala


Club of the Year DIT Karting Club

21st April 2010

GAA stars and waterpolo winners, international heroes and local legends, team players and title holders from across DIT all came together for the 13th annual DIT Sports Awards ceremony held at the Hilton Hotel, Dublin on April 15.

Each year DIT recognises the outstanding contribution of individual student athletes across many diverse sporting disciplines for their achievements in sport.  This year?s awards ceremony was extended to reflect not only the achievements of individual students in DIT but also the contribution of the sports clubs to campus life and the importance of participation by all students in sport and recreation. Guest of honour for the ceremony was Brian Kerr, manager of the Faroe Islands national football team, and former Irish football manager.

The awards, which have been in existence since 1998, aim to recognise the accomplishments of DIT students on the sporting fields and arenas of Ireland and abroad.   This year 14 awards were presented from individual All-Star Awards to the Club of the Year Award.  Also presented on the night were medallions to acknowledge some individual DIT students and staff members for their outstanding contribution to DIT Sports throughout the year. 

It has been a successful year for DIT sport that saw a number of DIT teams and individual students securing nationally recognised titles and winning intervarsity trophies.  For example, DIT won the Freshers Cup in Football, the Purcell Cup in Camogie and came a close 2nd in the Fitzgibbon final in Hurling. ?and that was just in the GAA. 

DIT also proved its martial arts capabilities by winning the O?Connor Cup in Shotokan Karate, 37 medals in the Karate Intervarsities and gold in the Judo intervarsities.  The College set new records in Archery with its Archery Club securing 1st place in no less than 5 Intervarsities.  DIT ladies are the Irish University Waterpolo champions and winners of the CUSAI Hockey League.  It is also this year?s National Intervarsity mountain running champions, the overall winner of the Equestrian Intervarsities and the college secured top spot in the Irish Colleges Mixed  Hockey Championships. 

One of the biggest clubs in DIT with more than 565 members, and a very active calendar of events, the Karting Club achieved top spot in the CUSAI Intervarsity and secured both 1st and 2nd place in the Drivers Championship.  It was no surprise then when the Club was declared DIT Club of the Year.

Honours were also bestowed on individual students for their achievements including Sinead Aherne from the DIT Ladies Gaelic Football Club, three members of DIT?s Soccer Club - Stephen Roche, Davy O'Sullivan and Conor McMahon, Steven Duffy of the DIT Swimming & Waterpolo Club, Aron Smith ofthe DIT Karting Cluband Martin O?Leary of DIT?s Sailing Club.

Also announced on the night by Caragh O?Buachalla, Sports Officer at DIT was a new ?Scholar of the Year? Award. The award was introduced to acknowledge students who have demonstrated outstanding performance both academically and athletically.   The inaugural award of DIT Female Scholar of the Year 2010 went to Irene Walsh of the DIT Swimming & Waterpolo Club while the title of DIT Male Scholar of the Year went to Graham Higginbotham of DIT?s Karting Club.

This year?s recipients will now join DIT?s sporting hall of fame which includes an illustrious list of previous award winners like David Gillick, Mark Vaughan, Eamon Zayed, Steve Collins, & Shane Horgan to name but a few. 

Speaking at the awards ceremony Professor Brian Norton, President of DIT complemented the hard work of all involved in DIT Sports ?Active involvement in sports is something DIT encourages and the DIT Sports and Recreation service has developed a comprehensive programme of sports activities that caters from the novice to elite level across the whole spectrum of sporting disciplines from archery to waterpolo.?

For a list of recipients visit

Back to Top