DIT victorious at Mackintosh Centenary International Design Charette


View of Project on Scott Street

February 10th 2010

Dublin School of Architecture returned victorious from an international architectural competition held to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the opening of the famous Glasgow School of Art by Charles Rennie Mackintosh in Scotland in December 2009. The members of the DIT team were Fourth Year architectural students: Thomas Comerford, Jamie Conway, Elizabeth Gaynor, Jon Loewen and tutor Dermot Boyd, they were joined by student: Shirla Tse, tutors: Isabel Garriga and Alan Hooper from the Mackintosh School of Architecture for the Charette.

The Charette consisted of an intense period of design activity and it was held over four days, teams were asked to complete the School campus by designing a new school of architecture and library for Glasgow School of Art in order to compliment Mackintosh?s magnificent building and the new assembly building proposed by renowned American architect, Steven Holl.

The DIT proposal was driven by a careful analysis of the site and urban pattern of Glasgow, a spatial realisation of the need for open communication and shared learning within a school of architecture and a structural and environmental play on the use of serviced walls and floors between the new school and library.

Other teams representing architectural schools from Australia, England, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Spain, and the USA took part but the judges Bendetta Tagliabue, Prof. Andy McMillan, Prof. William Curtis and Prof. David Porter declared ?Dublin? as the clear winner.

DIT Team (L to R) Jamie Conway, Elizabeth Gaynor, Jon Loewen,
Shirla Tse (MAC), Thomas Comerford and Isabel Garriga (MAC)

Back to Top