Sporting stars honoured at DIT Sports Awards


15th April 2011

Kenneth Egan motivates young athletes

GAA stars and equestrian winners, international heroes and local legends, team players and title holders from across DIT all came together for the 14th annual DIT Sports Awards ceremony held at the Aviva Stadium, Dublin last night. Adding to the star quality, Kenneth Egan, silver medalist in the 81kg light-heavyweight in the 2008 Olympic Games, was a very popular choice with the students as the guest speaker at the event.


According to Sinead McNulty, Head of Sport, “Each year since 1989 DIT has recognised the outstanding contribution of individual student athletes across many diverse sporting disciplines for their achievements in sport at home and internationally. This year’s awards ceremony is also about reflecting not only the achievements of individual students in DIT but also the contribution of the sports clubs to campus life and the importance of participation by all students in sport and recreation.”

Congratulating the award winners, Professor Brian Norton, President of DIT said “Over 3000 DIT students participated in sports at some level over the last year, ranging from archery and athletics to Ladies Gaelic Football and Shotokan Karate. Many of those students have excelled in competitions at various levels, but the participation has been positive for all of them – sport enhances student life and offers great opportunities for meeting people from other programmes and disciplines. I applaud you all and I am really proud of our Sports Service for the work they have done to grow sport at DIT.”


Twelve awards were presented, from individual All-Star Awards to the Club of the Year Award. Also presented on the night were medallions to acknowledge some individual DIT students and staff members for their outstanding contribution to DIT Sports throughout the year. Amongst the year’s successes were:

  • In GAA a number of DIT teams and individual students secured nationally recognised titles and winning intervarsity trophies - for example, DIT won the Division 1 Ryan Cup Championship, were Division 2 Camogie League Champions, winners of the Purcell Shield in Camogie and Lynch Shield and were Leinster Senior Hurling Champions.
  • In martial arts DIT won the O’Connor Cup in Shotokan Karate for the second year running, 20 medals in the Karate Intervarsity competition and Gold in the Men’s Team event in the Judo Intervarsities.
  • DIT set new records in Archery with Sarah Deegan scoring the highest score this year.
  • DIT Men are the Novice Irish University WaterPolo champions and winners of the Men’s CUSAI Hockey League, while DIT also secured a top spot in the Irish Colleges Mixed Hockey Championships
  • In Athletics, Colm Hill is this year’s National Intervarsity Mountain running champion
  • DIT was the overall winner of the Equestrian Intervarsities
  • The Premier team in DIT Soccer Club - one of the biggest clubs in DIT with more than 500 members, and a very active calendar of events - won the All-Ireland Umbro Cup and were finalists in the All-Ireland Bob Eustace Cup. Those achievements won them Club of the Year.


Honours were also bestowed on individual students for their achievements including Jane Dolan from the DIT Ladies Gaelic Football Club and Graham Higginbotham from DIT Karting Club. Outstanding Contribution Medallions were presented to Chris Kelly of DIT Athletics Club, Paddy Lindstrom of DIT Judo Club, Simon Donnelly of DIT’s Ski Club and Emma Bailey of the DIT Equestrian Club.

Special awards were made this year to three athletes for their outstanding performances representing Ireland on an International Stage. The Special Recognition awards went to Sara Glynn of the DIT Equestrian Club, John Smith of the DIT’s Archery Club and Sean Hendrick of the DIT Canoe Club.


This year’s recipients will now join DIT’s sporting hall of fame which includes an illustrious list of previous award winners like David Gillick, Mark Vaughan, Eamon Zayed, Steve Collins, & Shane Horgan to name but a few.

Further information - contact:

Sinead McNulty, Head of Sport, DIT - 087 215 6494 or

Melda Slattery, DIT Public Affairs - 087 230 9221

Back to Top