Dr Michael Seery wins Jennifer Burke Award for Innovation in Learning and Teaching


Presenting the Jennifer Burke Award at EdTech 11, Waterford IT to Dr Michael Seery (centre) were, from left, Dr Jen Harvey, DIT Learning Teaching and Technology Centre, Dr Paul Gormley, NUIG, Chair ILTA, Muireann O’Keeffe (DIT LTTC, Treasurer, ILTA) and Catherine Bruen (TCD, NDLR)¿

7th June 2011

Dr Michael Seery was presented with the Irish Learning Technology Association Jennifer Burke Award for Innovation in Learning and Teaching at the recent EdTech 11 conference held in Waterford Institute of Technology. The award is made to a lecturer from any Irish institution who has devised, implemented and evaluated a learning innovation in their practice. The judging panel of the award is made up of representatives from the HEA, industry (Intel Ireland), last year’s winner (Dr John O’Connor), Jennifer Burke’s former colleagues in DCU and from the Irish Learning and Technology Association.

The award was made to recognise Michael’s work in incorporating e-learning into his teaching, and specifically for developing online pre-lecture resources to support first year students’ learning – especially those coming to 3rd level without prior knowledge of chemistry. The work was completed as part of a College of Sciences and Health Teaching Fellowship and is part of a larger body of work in supporting first year learners in the School of Chemical and Pharmaceutical Sciences being carried out by Michael and Dr Claire Mc Donnell of the Chemistry Education Research Team and Dr Roisin Donnelly of the Learning Teaching and Technology Centre.

Back to Top