DIT Sports Awards 2011


13th April 2011

The annual DIT Sports Awards ceremony will take place this Thursday 14th April 2011 in the Aviva Stadium.   This event showcases the growth and development of sport in DIT and is a celebration of both individual and club sporting successes throughout the year. 

Awards will be made in five main categories, based on student nominations, and are hotly contested.  The categories are:

  • All Star Awards
  • Sports Scholar of the Year
  • Club Exec of the Year
  • Most Improved Club of the Year, and
  • Club of the Year. 

A highlight of the event each year is the guest speaker, a high profile sports person who is invited to talk about their own experiences of sporting achievement.  This year the speaker will be Olympic Silver Medallist, boxer Kenneth Egan, who was a particular star for Ireland in the 2008 Games, and no doubt will be warmly welcomed to the Ceremony by the students and distinguished guests, including Professor Brian Norton,  President of DIT. 

Back to Top