DIT’s spring graduation – a celebration of student and staff achievements


3rd March 2011

The spring sun shone down over Dublin Institute of Technology on February 19th, aptly reflecting the celebratory mood as the final graduation of 'the class of 2010' took place in St. Patrick's Cathedral.

This was the fourteenth and final graduation ceremony for the class of 2010 and it brought together graduates from a range of disciplines. From International Selling to Community and Local Development; from Molecular Pathology to Sustainable Development and from Human Nutrition and Dietetics to Criminology the graduates not only represented many fields of study, but together they provided a snapshot of the scale and scope of provision of DIT. 


Over the last number of weeks DIT's annual graduation ceremonies have seen almost 4,000 students graduate across all disciplines in the Institute. Today saw over 600 students graduate from two ceremonies held in St. Patrick’s Cathedral. 

Higher learning was definitely on the agenda of the graduation which saw a large number of graduates collect PhD degrees. There was also an international flavour to the celebrations especially with graduates of programmes like the Master of Arts in International Journalism, the Postgraduate Diploma in International Selling and the European MSc in Food Science, Technology and Nutrition.


As well as recognising the considerable achievements of all of the students involved, the ceremony also brought to the fore a number of significant accomplishments by DIT Staff. First of all Professor Hugh Byrne was presented with the Institute’s Research Excellence Award.  Professor Byrne received the award for his outstanding track record in research in the Institite.  The Excellence in Teaching Award 2010 was presented to  Blathnaid Sheridan, in the School of Mathematical Sciences.  The Institutional panel that adjudicated on this award were highly impressed by the energy and innovation that Blathnaid brings to her teaching.

The graduation also saw a number of staff members attend the ceremony as graduates themselves including Siobhán Nic Gaoithín, Labhaoise Ní Fhaoláin, Ayesha O’Reilly, Caoimhe Mulhall and Marianne Boyle


Back to Top