DIT Society Awards 2012

16th April 2012: The annual 12th DIT Society Awards took place in Gleeson Theatre on the 4th April 2012. The awards ceremony is designed to highlight the contribution of Societies and individual students who have made an outstanding effort in volunteering to create extra curricular life at DIT. The institute has over 80 societies and 30 special events which provide the student body with a range of cultural, social, political and creative activities. Awards were presented on the night to societies and students that have excelled in engaging the student body throughout the year. This year DIT Societies have raised thousands of euro’s for various charities. The winners went on to represent the Institute in the National Society of the Year Awards, organised by BICS (Board of Irish Colleges Societies) on the 12th of April.


Professor Brian Norton with DIT's Best Society 2012 - The LGBT Soc

A huge thank you to Professor Norton for attending the event and to all the student volunteers who helped with the organisation, Gleeson Theatre looked great!

The winners on the night were;

  • Best Photo – DIT Guitar Soc
  • Online Presence – DIT LGBT Soc
  • Best Course Related – Engineer Soc
  • Most Improved Northside – Banter Soc
  • Most Improved Southside – Film Soc
  • Most Improved Overall – Banter Soc
  • Best New Society – Bia Mall
  • Best On-Site Event – Inclusion & Integration Week, DIT Sign Soc
  • Best Northside Society – Engineer Soc
  • Best Southside Society – Nutrition Soc
  • Best Fresher – Didi De Zwarte
  • Best Individual – Helene Duffy, Max Federov and Siobhan Nic Uidhir
  • Charity Event – DIT Christmas Appeal
  • Civic Contribution – DIT Sign Soc
  • Best Event – Rainbow Week, LGBT Soc
  • Best Society – DIT LGBT Soc
  • Peoples Choice Award – Engineer Soc

List of final year “Outstanding Contribution Awards” 2012 -

  • Gianfranco Palumbo
  • Tania Zorrilla
  • Colin Campbell
  • Keelan Keogh
  • Paul Conroy
  • Evan Farrell
  • Jenny Whitehead
  • Ruth Hynes
  • Will Meara
  • Jess Elmes
  • Orla Kinsella
  • Martin Lee
  • Dearbhla Leddy


DIT Sign Soc


Outstanding Contribution Awards


DIT Engineering Soc


DIT Banter Soc

Back to Top