Get me to the Cathedral!  The last of the Class of 2011 conferred

7th March 2012: Over the past few months over 4,000 DIT graduates were conferred in St Patrick's Cathedral with awards ranging from Higher Certificate to PhD.  And higher learning was definitely on the agenda with 44 graduates being conferred with PhDs!


Cathedral Chase... Mary Horan (left) with Warren Deacon, Orla McCann, and John Quinn (right) who graduated with diplomas in Human Nutrition and Dietetics and Masters in Engineering at DIT’s annual Spring Graduation

In his address, Professor Brian Norton, DIT President, paid tribute to the Class of 2011 : 'This generation - represented by the graduates here today - is the most highly educated in our history and the future of the country will be shaped by people like you.  The human potential that exists here today in this magnificent cathedral is proof that the country can build for the future.  You have already proven to yourselves and to all of us what you are capable of and I have every confidence that you will go on to play your part and to make a difference.  Seated among you are the leaders, innovators and change makers of the future.  Your challenge now is to continue to educate yourselves, stay curious and seize every opportunity.'


The academic procession leaving St Patrick's Cathedral following Spring Graduations 

In addition to students receiving their awards, a number of academic staff were conferred with the title of Honorary Professor.  The title of Honorary Professor is awarded to those whose academic achievements have been judged by their peers a being of the highest international standard.  According to Professor Brian Norton, President of DIT : 'This honour is a tribute to their individual achievements, but it also reflects honour on their respective Schools and Colleges, and on DIT as an institution, and we are immensely proud of them as our colleagues.' The following academic staff were awarded the title of Honorary Professor:

  • Professor Max Ammann, School of Electronic & Communications Engineering
  • Professor Jonathan Blackledge, School of Control Systems & Electrical Engineering
  • Professor Thomas Cooney, School of Marketing
  • Professor Stephen Jerrams, Centre for Elastomer Research
  • Professor David Kennedy, Head of Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Professor Fiona Lyng, Radiation & Environmental Science Centre
  • Professor Declan McCormack, Head of School of Chemical & Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Professor Mary McNamara, Head of Graduate Research School
  • Professor Aidan O'Driscoll, School of Marketing
  • Professor Bing Wu, Head of Asian Partnerships

We'd like to take this opportunity to congratulate the 'Class of 2011' - we wish you well for the future and look forward to keeping in touch.




Back to Top