11 April 2013: Each year DIT recognises the outstanding contribution of individual student athletes across many diverse sporting disciplines for their achievements in sport. This year, GAA stars and minority sports winners, international heroes and title holders, team players and individual sports stars from across DIT all came together for the 16th annual DIT Sports Awards ceremony held at the Gleeson Theatre.

Guest of Honour at the ceremony, Fiona Coughlan, Captain of the Ireland Women’s Rugby Team and recent Grand Slam Winners, received a warm welcome and a standing ovation when she arrived. Speaking about her own experience of taking up rugby for the first time when she went to college, she said she had made friends for life and had achieved things she would never have anticipated because of sport and she would encourage all students to take the opportunities made available in college.


Congratulating the recipients of the Awards, Professor Brian Norton, President of DIT, said that the ceremony was an opportunity to celebrate the contribution of the sports clubs to enhancing the student experience at the Institute. “Not only in terms of the impressive array of silverware on display…….but the part that you play in providing a strong DIT identity, developing teamwork and loyalty and providing friendships and kinships throughout their college years”. He also thanked the Sports Officers for the tremendous support and encouragement they provide to students in DIT.

This year has been particularly successful for Sport in DIT, with a number of teams and individual students securing nationally recognised titles and winning intervarsity trophies. For example, DIT GAA Club won both the Ryan Cup Division 1 League Title and Sigerson Cup to complete a historic league and championship double which hasn’t been done at this level since 1978 while the DIT Soccer Club won the All-Ireland College & University Premier League title for the first time in the clubs history.

DIT also proved its driving capabilities by winning the All-Ireland Championship League and Individual Drivers Title in Karting and the Boxing Club fought their way to win 2 Titles at the Novice and Senior IATBA Intervarsities and gain selection to represent Ireland to fight against the best boxers in the British Isles at the Harringy Cup for the first time. Tadhg O’Ferrall and Sean Hendrick were nominated for Irish Slalom Team selections, Thomas Byrne, Senior AIL Squad and DIT Rugby player was called up to represent Leinster A in the British and Irish Cup, John Smith won the Indoor Nationals Advanced Compound in Archery Intervarsity and DIT Martial Arts Clubs won a wealth of medals in Intervarsity Competitions in 2012/2013.

The GAA Club, one of the oldest Clubs in the history of sport at DIT with more than 400 members, had one of their most successful seasons to date and were declared DIT Club of the Year.

Individual awards for contribution to the promotion and development of Sport at DIT went to Brian McLean from the DIT Snooker and Pool Club and Ciaran Boyle from DIT Shotokan Karate Club. A Special Recognition Award was made posthumously to wind-surfer, the late Mikey Clancy who tragically died in January, for his contribution to sport at DIT and in recognition of his own sporting success. During an emotional tribute where a video presentation of Mikey in action was shown, Mikey’s parents accepted the award from Fiona Coughlan the Irish Women’s rugby captain.

This year’s recipients will now join DIT’s sporting hall of fame which includes an memorable list of previous award winners including David Gillick, Mark Vaughan, Eamon Zayed, Steve Collins, and Shane Horgan to name but a few.

Back to Top