DIT academic Dr Brian O’Neill appointed as Chair of Internet Content Governance Advisory Group


03 December 2013: DIT academic Dr Brian O’Neill has been appointed as Chair of the Internet Content Governance Advisory Group, which was formally announced by the Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources, Pat Rabbitte TD, last Friday.

This specialist working group, consisting of experts in the fields of child safety and online behaviour as well as technical and industry experts, will consider the emerging issues in the area of online content and its general impact on the lives of children and young people.

The forum will take submissions from the public or interested groups and will produce a report for the Minister by the end of May 2014.

The group will cover a number of issues arising for society, and in particular for children and young people, from the dramatic growth in internet use over the last decade, and particularly since the advent of affordable internet connected mobile devices.


Specifically, it will deal with bullying and harassment online and issues around age inappropriate viewing of content. Minister Rabbitte said he very much looked forward to the advice of the Group. He stressed that, “Fundamental to their work is the question of striking an appropriate balance in policy terms that ensures the protection of children and young people but does not limit their opportunities and rights online”.

The full membership of the Internet Content Governance Advisory Group is Chair Brian O’Neill (DIT), Mary Aiken (RCSI), Prof Joe Carthy (UCD), Áine Lynch (National Parents Council – Primary), Kate O’Sullivan (UPC) and barrister Ronan Lupton.

Dr Brian O’Neill is Head of the School of Media at Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT). His areas of research include media literacy, policymaking and public interest issues in media and communications related to children and youth. He is leading a new research project studying young people’s use of mobile connected devices.

He is a member of Ireland's Internet Safety Advisory Council and is national coordinator for EU Kids Online, a 33-country network supported under the European Commission’s Safer Internet Programme. He was appointed as an Independent Assessor to the ICT Coalition for a Safer Internet for Children and Young People in May of this year.

Back to Top