DIT GAA wins All Ireland Junior Football title

homepage DIT GAA.jpg

22 March 2013:  Congratulations to the DIT Junior football squad who have won the All Ireland Junior Football Championship for the second year in a row!  Following the success of the Senior squad who won the Sigerson Cup for the first time in DIT’s history, the Junior team beat University of Ulster in the final which took place in NUI Maynooth.
According to Darragh Biddlecombe, GAA Officer, “This is a fantastic result!  The team came through a tough campaign with great victories over UCD (after a replay) in the Leinster Semi-final, and then a three point win over DCU in the Leinster Final.  They went on to beat CIT in the All Ireland semi-final and eventually held off University of Ulster Jordanstown in the All Ireland final with a scoreline of 1.17 – 1.5.”


Describing the exciting final, Biddlecombe said “DIT stormed into an early lead with points from Darragh Smyth (Meath), Cormac Gordon (Mayo), Orin Heaphy (Monaghan) and Pierce Maxwell (Dublin).  Tight defending by last year’s winning captain Domhnall Fogarty (Meath), and from Graham Fogarty and Conor Cronin (both Dublin), ensured a comfortable half-time lead.  DIT maintained their performance level in the second half.  A goal, finished with aplomb by Bernard Deay (Kildare), and several points scored by man of the match, Conor Finnegan, ensured DIT retained the championship for another year.”
The panel, comprising 28 players from 13 counties, was captained by Fintan Casserly (Roscommon) and included a strong Cavan presence including Paul McEvoy, Stephen Cooney and Conor Finnegan.   In the semi-final against CIT, men of the match performances came from Eoin Murray (Dublin) and Mark Kenny (Wicklow).
Great credit for an outstanding achievement is due to the entire panel and the management team of Eoghan O Grady (College of Business) and Dermot Kehily (College of Engineering and Built Environment).

Back to Top