DIT students win National Analytical Measurement Lab Competition

Two DIT second year students of Forensic and Environmental Chemistry, Siobhan Smith and Damien Mooney,  have won the 2013 National Analytical Measurement Laboratory Competition.  The competition  was hosted by Dublin City University on March 22nd l  


The annual EAMC (Eurachem Analytical Measurement Competition) competition is the national final open to all second year, third level science students.  This year 26 teams from 13 third level universities and institutes of technologies competed in the competition. These students were chosen by their own institutions for their practical laboratory and error estimation skills.


According to Dr. Patrice Behan, School of Chemical and Pharmaceutical Sciences, “Two teams from the DIT (Diana Sadkovskaite and Rihana Moussa) and (Siobhan Smith and Damien Mooney) participated in this year’s competition.  Accurate and reliable measurements are the keystone to the experimental process in Analytical Science and this competition promotes critical, analytical and observational skills, and raises awareness among students of uncertainty in measurement and the skills needed in reducing and reporting it.”

The winning DIT team were presented with plaques and associate membership of the Institute of Chemistry of Ireland.  Dundalk Institute of Technology students and University College Dublin students were awarded runners up and were also presented with a plaque, sponsored by the Heritage Council.  The design of the plaque is based on the Newgrange National Monument “light box” and is symbolic of a science tradition in Ireland, illustrating precision and reliability dating back to 3200BC.


Professor Declan McCormack, Head of School of Chemical and Pharmaceutical Sciences, said “I would like to congratulate Damian and Siobhan on their outstanding achievement. They uphold a proud tradition which has seen DIT students win this award on three occasions in the last six years. Particular commendation must also go to their mentor, Dr Patrice Behan, who has instilled the importance of good laboratory practice and scientific accuracy and rigour amongst her students”

The importance of analytical science in third level education is evidenced by the promotion and support of this competition. The major sponsors of the 2013 competition are Eurachem Ireland, Mason Technology, the Environmental Protection Agency, the Faculty of Health and Science DCU, the Institute of Chemistry of Ireland, Lennox Laboratories Supplies and the Royal Society of Chemistry.” 


For Further Information Contact: Dr Patrice Behan, School of Chemical and Pharmaceutical Sciences, DIT, Kevin Street, Dublin 8. patrice.behan@dit.ie, Ph: 01 402 4664



EMAC National Analytical Measurement Competition Winners 2013 from the School of Chemical and Pharmaceutical Sciences DIT Kevin Street

Dr Patrice Behan – Mentor (Analytical Chemistry Lecturer, School of Chemical & Pharmaceutical Sciences), Damien Mooney and Siobhan Smith - Winners (BSc Forensic and Environmental Chemistry), Prof Ray Leonard – Competition Judge (Institute of Chemistry of Ireland).

Back to Top