DITX2013 Design Grad Show Comes to a Close


11 June 2013: Another successful DIT Design Graduate Show came to a close yesterday evening (Monday 10 June) drawing many Dubliners to the show over a beautifully sunny weekend.

The exhibition, which took place at the Chocolate Factory, on King Inn’s Street, was full to the brim for its official opening on Friday evening.

Close to 1,000 people attended the launch and viewed the work by students from Visual Communications, Interior Design, Furniture Design, Visual Merchandising and Product Design.


A presentation of prizes to some of the graduating students took place at 6pm.  Professor Brian Norton, President of DIT, spoke to the group in attendance and the guest speaker on the night was Brian Nolan of Detail. Design Studio.

The projects on show this year included interior design plans for a homeless shelter, vibrant visual merchandising schemes for shop windows, a glove for athletes that can detect when he or she is getting dehydrated, a body protector for female martial arts students, a striking red bookcase and an adjustable bookshelf made out of fabric!


Following the celebrations on Friday evening, the Graduate Show was a hive of activity over the weekend and finally closed its doors at 6pm on Monday.

List of prizes

DT001: Product Design

Year 1: Brenda Corkish

Year 2: Shauna Kelly

Year 3: Sean McConnell


Sponsors Award - Best Design Project –  

Winner: Stephen Tyrell


Sponsors Award - Most Innovative Concept –

Winner: Sean Toomey


Sponsors Award - Best Presentation Prototype –

Winner: Conor Bennett


Sponsors Award - Best Working Prototype –

Winner: Henry Daly


Sponsors Award - Best Visual Presentation –

Winner: Ned Kaar


Sponsors Award: Best 4th Year Design Student

Winner: Henry Daly


Awards presented by John Lawlor, Head of School of Manufacturing and Design Engineering


DT544: Interior and Furniture Design

Best Interior Design Award 1st Year - Niall Brady

Best Interior Design Award 2nd Year - Richard May

Best Interior Design Award 3rd Year - Daniel Nolan


Outstanding Interior Design Student:

Winner: Amy Farrar

Sponsored by Crown Paints

Presented by Neville Knott


Best Interior Design Project

Winner: Alan De Khors

Sponsored by Crown Paints

Presented by Neville Knott


Best Interior Design Student

Winner: Laura Graham

Sponsored by Mad Blue Fish

Presented by Thomas Leggett


Best Furniture Design Award 3rd Year – Erika Morocz


Outstanding Furniture Design Student

Winner: Paula O’Connor

Sponsored by Woodworkers

Presented by: Ken Milofsky


Special Recognition Award:

Winner: Daniel Nolan

Sponsored by The Chocolate Factory:

Presented by: Val / John Walsh

DT545: Visual Communications

Year 1: Maeve O’Grady

Year 2: Alan Harbron

Year 3: Jurijs Afanasjevs


The Jacques Teljeur Typography Award:

Winner: Áine Gibbons


Best use of Visual Communication Design:

Winner: Hugh O Connor

Sponsored by O’Sullivans

Presented by Marketing Manager, Mr Tim O Sullivan


Best use of Multi Media in Visual Communication Design:

Winner: David Stanley

Sponsored by Image Now

Presented by Director, Mr Ian Sorenson 


Visual Communications Student:

Winner: Amy Heffernan

Sponsored by Dynamo

Presented by Director, Mr Jamie Helly


DT546: Fine Art

Year 1  Ernada Husic

Year 2  Kevin Lindsay

Year 3  Karen Murphy


Cill Rialaig Artist residency for a Fine Art Graduate 2013

Winner: Helen MacMahon

Sponsored by: Cill Rialaig

Presented by: Anita Groener


Best use of Multi Media in Fine Art 2013

Mark Reynolds

Sponsored by: Image Now Design & Film

Presented by: Ian Sorenson, Director


Excellence in Fine Art Award 2013

Órla Phelan

Sponsored by: K & M Evans Trading Ltd

Presented by: Claire and John O’Rourke, Sales Manager and Managing Director


Sponsors Award - Lorna Brett Jordan Purchase Award 2013

Winner: Sarah Carney

Sponsored by: The Printed Image

Presented by: Anita Groener


DT598: Visual Merchandising & Display

Year 1: Student of the Year Award: Aisling Cassidy

Year 2: Student of the Year Award: Ciara McGearty


Overall Best Visual Merchandising Student Trina Henderson Award:

Winner: Zara Davison

Presented by Pat Muldowney


Best Visual Merchandising Student:

Winner: Eimear Ahern

Sponsor Kildare Village, presented by Anne Mc Ginley


Best Visual Merchandising Installation:

Winner: Laura Cavanagh

Sponsor Kilkenny group. Presented by Gillian Bell


Best Original and Creative Installation Project:

Winner: Aoife Costello

Sponsor Dunnes Stores. Presented by Catherine McPadden


Best original innovative project using technology in Retail:

Winner: Katie Brennan

Sponsor Visual Sense / Clerys presented by Rowena Doyle


Special Recognition Award

Winner: Lucy Mc Manus


Students Special Award in Studentship

Laura Cavanagh

Zara Davison

Maeve Harmon

Sponsored by Arnotts ,

Presented by Damien Byrne Creative Director


Thesis Awards

Sponsored by Gandon Editions


Best Thesis DT544:

Alan De Khors


Best Thesis Research DT544:

Emanuela Cepoiu


Best Thesis DT545:

Natalia Kunachowicz


Best Thesis Research DT545

Mario Quintana Sosa


Best Thesis DT546

Marie Farrington,


Best Thesis Research DT546

Catherine Byrne


Thesis Awards sponsored by: Gandon Editions

Presented by: Dr. Noel Fitzpatrick

School of Art, Design and Printing Special Award

Karen Kearney

Mario Quintas Sosa

David Stanley


John Creagh Award

Winner: Mark Reynolds DT546 Fine Art


Back to Top