Inventor Competition Winners Announced


Dr James Hayes and Dr Eithne Dempsey, part of the team from the MICRA Research Centre, IT Tallaght, being presented with the Overall Invention Award

19 June 2013: The winners of the Inventor Competition 2013 were announced at the Research and Innovation Open Day in DIT Aungier St.

Guest of Honour at the event, Minister Sean Sherlock TD, along with the Presidents of the three Dublin Technological University Alliance institutions, presented the winners of the Inventor Competition 2013 with their prizewinners’ cheques.


Dr Suzanne Martin, one of the co-inventors of Novel Diffractive Optics, being presented with Best Researcher Invention Award. Dr Martin is from the Industrial & Engineering Optics Centre, DIT

The prize fund of €2,000 is co-sponsored by patent company Hannah Moore Curley and this year, the competition was opened to all students and members of staff in DIT, IT Blanchardstown and IT Tallaght.

It attracted a significant number of entrants and its aim was to identify projects, innovations and well structured ideas with commercial potential.

DIT would like to congratulate the winners and offer its thanks and commiserations to all other competition entrants.


Ian Burnell of DIT being presented with the Best Undergraduate Researcher Award


The winners are announced

 The Winners of the Inventor Competition 2013 are:

  • Best Overall Invention Award

    Invention: Hy-GENSOR: A Hand Hygiene Assessment Device for Healthcare Professionals

    Inventors: Brian Seddon, Dr. Baljit Singh, Dr. Rodica Doaga, Dr. Santhosh Padmanabhan, Dr. James Hayes and Dr. Eithne Dempsey  (MICRA Research Centre, IT Tallaght)
  • Best Researcher Invention Award

    Invention: Novel Diffractive Optics

    Inventors: Dr. Suzanne Martin and Dr. Vincent Toal (Industrial & Engineering Optics Centre, DIT)
  • Best Undergraduate Researcher Award

    Invention: Enhanced Emergency Lighting (EEL) Barrier

    Inventor: Ian Burnell (DIT). 


Back to Top