Radio DJ of the Year!


24 April 2013: Rebecca Shekleton, final year Media Arts student in DIT, has won the coveted title of ‘Radio DJ of the Year’ at this year’s SMEDIA Awards. According to Pat Hannon, lecturer in the School of Media, “This was a particularly good year for DIT FM – not only has Rebecca taken the Radio DJ title, but she was joined on the shortlist by no less than three of her course colleagues – Nathan O’Reilly, Graham O’Toole and Kate Power, all in the final year of their degree programme!”

It was a good year for DIT students in other categories too. Siobhan Perry won “Short Film of the Year” for her film Off the Board. Website of the year went to created by Roxanne Mauck, Irene Walsh and Colin Gough. The Award for “Small College Publication of the Year” was won by TONIC – the very stylish end-of-year publication edited and produced by graduating journalism students in 2012.

The SMEDIAs – Student Media Awards – are in their 13th year, and are keenly contested in all categories of student media by universities and colleges on the island of Ireland.

Back to Top