School of Media Students Win Qualifier for Video Game Competition



DIT students have won the 2013 Irish qualifiers for the prestigious and highly competitive Dare to be Digital video game competition.

Bernard Raml (programmer), Eadaoin Dempsey (environment artist), Anne Marie Burke (character design), Marc O’Donoghue (level designer) and Daniel Aherne made up the team that got through the video games development qualifiers.

The students are studying the MSc in Creative Digital Media and BSc in Computer Game Development.

The team will head to Abertay University in Scotland during the summer to develop a prototype video game, receiving mentoring from industry. They will have nine weeks to fully develop their game and all of the prototypes will then be displayed at a showcase.

Members of the public and industry experts will get to play and vote for the games. The three highest scoring teams will receive a prize of £2,500 and will later attend the BAFTA Video Games Awards to compete for the highly regarded ‘Ones to Watch Award’.

The success of the students at Dare to be Digital follows on the heels of their classmates from the MSc in Creative Digital Media – Colin Gough, Roxanne Mauck and Irene Walshe.

Their website,, recently won best student website at the SMEDIAS, making it a very successful year for the programme.


Back to Top