The Cup that cheers…

homepage Cup.jpg

Colin Walshe, Captain of DIT Senior Gaelic Football team holds the Sigerson Cup and team Manager, Sean Fox holds the Ryan Cup

20 March 2013: The DIT Senior Gaelic Football Team was feted at a dinner in the Gleeson Theatre tonight, to celebrate their historic win – the first DIT to win the Sigerson Cup!

The entire panel and management team attended the dinner, organised by the DIT Sports Service. Speaking at the beginning of the evening, the President of DIT, Professor Brian Norton congratulated the players and mentors for their exceptional achievements in securing the double for DIT, having already won the Ryan Cup – the Irish Daily Mail Division 1 League Final against St. Mary’s of Belfast a few short weeks before.

Congratulating Manager Sean Fox on the spectacular success, Professor Norton recalled all the previous managers who had worked so hard to build the DIT GAA Club which was started in 1982. Including:
· Gerry McCaul, - the first Manager of the DIT Gaelic Football Team
· Mickey Whelan,
· Jody Moran, who managed the team to Trench Cup wins in 1995 and 1997
· Des O’Donnell/ Ciaran O’Hehir
· Seamus Reilly
· Tadhg Condron/ Paddy Canning – who managed the team to two Sigerson finals weekends in 2008 and 2009
· Michael Hannon
· Paul Clancy

and, most recently, Sean Fox.

story Cup1.jpg

President of DIT, with Colin Walshe (Captain) and Sean Fox (Manager) and entire DIT Senior Gaelic Football Panel

Professor Norton went on to thank the huge group of volunteers who have been involved with the club over the years, and he made special mention of former colleague Ms. Anne Murphy, who has supported the club throughout the years and continues to do so.

“Finally, may I congratulate the players here tonight – captained proudly by Colin Walshe. I would like to commend you all on your commitment to Dublin Institute of Technology, to the DIT Gaelic Football club and your academic careers. It can be a tough balancing act – but these men have brought huge pride to the staff and students across DIT through their sporting achievements this year. The importance of this Sigerson Cup Victory cannot be understated. It has raised the profile of DIT not only in the GAA but across the country, and by highlighting our commitment to sport and recreation has also highlighted the need for high quality facilities on our new campus at Grangegorman”.

story Cup2.jpg

Darragh Biddlecombe, GAA Officer –“ working for 7 years to achieve this success”

story Cup.jpg

Aidan O’Shea speaking on behalf of players in the winning Sigerson Cup team

Other speakers on the night included Sean Fox, Manager of the winning team; Darragh Biddlecombe, GAA Officer in DIT Sports Service, and on behalf of the players, Aidan O’Shea. Following the celebratory dinner, Dr. Mike Murphy, Director and Dean of the College of Engineering and Built Environment, gave the closing address.

Back to Top