DIT student wins 2014 DoCoMoMo Dissertation Award

Posted: 24 October, 2014

Cormac Murray, fourth year architecture student in DIT, has been awarded the 2014 DoCoMoMo Dissertation Award.  The Award was established this year by DoCoMoMo Ireland in order to expand scholarship and material on the 20th Century architectural legacy and ‘ not least to support our work when a buildings or structures were under threat of demolition.’ 


The winning submission by Cormac Murray was entitled Modernism in Dublin 1960-1979; The Infill Building. A comparative case study of the ESB Headquarters, Fitzwilliam Street and Stephen Court, St Stephen’s Green. The judging panel – Shane O’Toole, Gul Kacmaz and  Miriam Fitzpatrick  - described the essay as “a mature, well informed and lyrical account of two great mid-century Irish architectural icons; the Stephenson Gibney’ Fitzwilliam Street ESB Building and Andy Devane’s Stephen Court. The narrative was distinctive and made great use of the broader 20th century cultural context. The essay, which was thoroughly researched, paid special attention to the specifics of the urban setting and façade details which, through comparative analysis, reached insightful, relevant conclusions for today.”  Cormac’s supervisor was Stephen Best, Dublin School of Architecture at DIT.

DOCOMOMO Ireland is the Irish chapter of the international organisation docomomo.  It aims to foster interest in the ideas and heritage of the modern movement in Ireland; exchange knowledge relating to conservation technology, history and education; elicit responsibility towards this recent architectural inheritance and act as a watchdog when important Irish modern movement buildings and sites are threatened

Back to Top

  • Prospective Students
  • International Students
  • Incoming Students
  • Current Students
  • Staff
  • Alumni
  • Business & Entrepreneurs
  • Donors
  • Media

  • Connect with DIT

    Home/Contact/Sitemap/A-Z/Help/Cookie & Privacy Statement/

    Member of the European University Association
    © 1998, Dublin Institute of Technology