Scifest 2014


Sheila Porter, SciFest with Kate Culligan, Dominican College; Cathy Foley, Science Foundation Ireland; Clodagh Hunt-Sheridan, Dominican College.; George Porter, SciFest; and Catherine Corry, Science Co-ordinator in Dominican College

04 April 2014: Two hundred students and thirty teachers from nineteen different schools throughout Dublin attended and participated in the SciFest@DIT event in the Gleeson Hall in Kevin Street on Friday, 28th March 2014.

The event was opened by John Lyons TD, who spoke to the students about the importance of an enthusiasm for Science, invention and problem solving. He commended the students on their projects which covered the physical sciences, life sciences and technology at junior, intermediate and senior level. He also commented on the strong message given by the participation of girls in the event, as they outnumbered boys by a ratio of two to one.

The event, which was organised by the College of Sciences and Health with the SciFest national organisers, received sponsorship from Science Foundation Ireland, Abbott, Intel, Newstalk, Pharmachemical Ireland, National Centre for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching and Learning, Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland, ESERO Ireland and the Royal Society of Chemistry.

The overall winning project, which was selected by a panel of judges representing industry and academia and awarded the SFI Discover Best Project Award, was "A research study of the x-ray properties of black hole binary stars" by Kate Culligan and Clodagh Hunt-Sheridan from Dominican College.


Deputy John Lyons TD speaking to students at SciFest in DIT Kevin STreet

The Intel Award was awarded to Evelyne Caffrey and Lauren Rush frpm Rathdown School for their project "Feline Physics". The Abbott Prize was awarded to Holly Routledge, Cliona Hughes and Rebecca Farnan from Santa Sabina Dominican College for "An Investigation into the Effects of Organic Fruit on the Life Expectancy and Reproductive Success of Prosophila Melanogaster".

The Newstalk Best Communicator Award was awarded to William Eickholt and Harry Knowles from Sutton Park School for "Investigation into the shock absorbency of homemade slime". The NCE-MSTL Maths in Science Award was awarded to Emily O'Reilly and Meabh Kelly from Loreto College for "Do adolescents interpret facial expressions differently to others". The Sustainable Energy Award was awarded to Carla Kaveh and Emma Wilson from Santa Sabina Dominican College for "The study of differences in level crossing waiting times along the Dublin DART line and it's contribution to CO2 emissions". The PharmaChemical Ireland Chemistry Award was awarded to Robbie O'Hanlon amd Luke Downes from Sutton Park School for "Chemistry behind the perfect scent".

Prizes were won on the day by 54 students from 14 different schools around Dublin, including Ard Scoil Rís, Coláiste Ráithín, Dominican College, Gaelcholáiste Reachrann, John Scottus Secondary School, Loreto College, Loreto Secondary School, Rathdown School, Santa Sabina Dominican College, Skerries Community College, St. Andrew's College, Stanhope Street Girls Secondary School, Sutton Park School, and The Teresian School.

Back to Top