To support your privacy rights we have updated our Privacy Statement and Cookie Policy to describe our use and sharing of cookies with our social media, advertising & analytics partners. We recommend that you review the privacy statement here, and follow the instructions to modify your cookie settings to suit your privacy preferences. Continued use of our site confirms your choice to accept our privacy statement & cookie policy and confirms your agreement to the processing of your personal data in line with our policy and your preferences. Read Cookie Policy.


Morrison Scholarships awarded for excellence in architecture studies

Posted: 11 June, 2015

Nine students of Architecture and Architectural Technology in DIT have been awarded Morrison Scholarships for ?academic excellence, engagement and motivation?.

Architect Angela Brady with Cormac Murray, winner of the 5th Year Morrison Scholarship for Architecture

The announcement was made at SHOW15, the Dublin School of Architecture End-of-year exhibition.  The Awards were presented by DIT graduate of architecture and former President of RIBA, Ms Angela Brady.

The Sir Richard Morrison Scholarship Scheme is an annual competition established through philanthropy and administered by the DIT Foundation. Lieutenant Colonel Charles Colquhoun Morrison bequeathed a sum of money ‘to provide scholarships for students of Architecture’ in memory of his relation Sir Richard Morrison.  Morrison was born in Cork in 1767 and was a pupil of James Gandon.  According to Ms Orna Hanly, Head of the Dublin School of Architecture,  “Morrison was a founder member of the Royal Institute of Architects of Ireland in 1839.  Kilruddery House in Co. Wicklow and Ballyfin House in Co Laois are among his most notable work, much of which he carried out in association with his son, the architect William Vitruvius Morrison.”

Pictured at SHOW’15, Alice Clarke, winner of the 4th Year Morrison Scholarship for Architecture

The students of Architectural Technology who won the 2015 Morrison Scholarships are:

  • Niall Murphy, 4th Year; James Fennelly, 3rd year; Danny Bruton, 2nd Year; and Pornthip Butdeekham, 1st Year.

The winners in Architecture are as follows:

  • Cormac Murray 5th Year; Alice Clarke, 4th Year; Michael Caffrey, 3rd Year; Paraic Walsh, 2nd Year, and James Murnaghan, 1st Year.

Final year student Niall Murphy, receiving the Morrison Scholarship for 4th Year Architectural Technology, presented by Angela Brady

The scholarship scheme is open to all students of Architecture and Architectural Technology in DIT. Each scholarship is in the value of €3,000.

SHOW’15 is a wide-ranging exhibition of work by students from each year of Architecture, Architectural Technology, Timber Product Technology and Construction Skills in DIT.  It is located in DIT Linenhall, and is open to the public until Saturday 13th June.

Pornthip Butdeekham, winner of the 1st Year student of Architectural Technology Morrison Scholarship, with Orna Hanly and Angela Brady