This site uses a number of third party cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy


Winners of DIT Student Design & Build Competition supported by ARUP

Posted: 4 February, 2016

On Friday 29th January 2016 the winning entries of the 2015/6 Student Design & Build Competition were announced.

Matt Webb, team leader of the winning student team and Aidan Madden of Arup

The competition was very kindly supported by ARUP Trust and this year there was a prize fund of over €3,500 awarded to students. The winning team were Jim Ward (BArch Architecture), Matt Webb (BArch Architecture) and Christina Stringer (BSc Architectural Technology).

Four teams reached the final stage of the DIT Student Design & Build Competition which involved bringing students together from different disciplines across the DIT College of Engineering and Built Engineering. The standard of input from each of the teams was excellent and the judging panel were very impressed with the level of professionalism and preparation by each of the participants.

Speaking at the awards presentation, Professor Lloyd Scott of the DIT School of Surveying and Construction Management commented that “this was a challenging initiative for those students involved, who worked in collaborative teams.  On the day of the presentations each team had the opportunity to share with the judging panel their ideas and proposals for student accommodation at the Grangegorman campus.  Each team took on the role of designers of the proposed student accommodation where they came up with some novel and distinctive proposals, all offering something different.”

The competition process involved the students working on their team proposals from November to January in addition to their own course work, culminating with a presentation day. During the process the teams were assisted by staff coaches and attended a special workshop on presentation skills with Mr Aidan Madden of ARUP at the company offices in Ringsend.

For further information on the competition contact

Christina Stringer, member of the winning student team and Aidan Madden of Arup

Judging panel and winning student team – left to right- Prof. Lloyd Scott, Jim Ward, Christina Stringer, Matt Webb, Aidan Madden and Terry Prendergast.

All the student team members and judging panel.