This site uses a number of third party cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy


Product Design team wins 2016 ?Where there is no Engineer??

Posted: 15 June, 2016

?Where there is no engineer ? designing for resilience? is an initiative coordinated by the Development Technology Research Group in DIT, in partnership with Concern Worldwide, Engineers Ireland and Engineers Without Borders.

First prize winners Eoin Cummins, Evan Dowling, Daniel Morgan and Eoin Bracken.

This year teams were asked to respond to the needs of communities in Nepal, following the devastation of the recent earthquake in that country.

This year the competition was open to students from Trinity College Dublin, UCD, UCC, IT Sligo, and DIT, and a number of entries were alos received from professional teams.  The judging panel included Dermot Quinlan, Liffey Developments; Emer Kennedy, Arups; Michael Doorly; Ann O'Mahony, Concern; Declan Alcock, Engineers Without Borders; and Deepesh Man Shakya, Nepal Ireland Society.

Back row, award winners of “Where there is no Engineer” with (front row) panel of judges

The national finals of the competition took place on Saturday 11th June in St. Laurence’s, DIT Grangegorman and the winners were announced.
First prize, sponsored by Davies, was won by Product Design students Eoin Cummins, Evan Dowling, Daniel Morgan and Eoin Bracken, and their project “Biochar Kiln”.  The team will now work with mentors in DIT and EWB to bring their project to pilot stage.  They will travel to Nepal later this year to implement a Stage 1 pilot on the ground with the competitions project partners.

Arup Charitable Trust have sponsored three "Arup Innovation Awards" to projects which are deemed to have significant potential. These awards provide a fund of €1,000 to allow the teams to carry out further work with the competition organisers and Arups to facilitate design, testing, market surveys, etc to develop their ideas further.  The Innovation awards went to the following projects:

  1. DIT student Ben Frost for his project “A human powered washing machine”
  2. UCD Biomedical/Mechanical Engineers Joseph Bollard, Fiona Brennan, Conor Dempsey and Sinead Nolan for their novel Waste Management System
  3. DIT Civil Engineering team Joe McLean, Rory O’Donnell, Ciaran McSharry and Jonas Robineau, for their proposal for a ‘portable biogas energy system’

Liam McCarton, on behalf of the competition organisers, said “We will be working together with all of the winning teams to bring their projects forward, hopefully, to a successful pilot in Nepal. We will also be hosting jointly the Nepal Ireland day in Farmleigh in September”.