This site uses a number of third party cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy


DIT Cricketers help Irish Universities bring Hone McGregor Tri Series title home

Posted: 17 June, 2016

On Tuesday, 14th June 2016 Irish Universities Cricket Team beat off Cambridge University and the Scottish University side to claim this year?s Hone-McGregor Tri-Series title.

The Winning Team

DIT had three of its elite student athletes play on the winning squad.  Congratulations to Michael Hogan, Harry Balbirnie, Jack Balbirnie, all three of whom study in DIT Aungier Street. Congratulations also to Herbie McClelland DIT Sports Officer and Irish Universities Team Manager on the great achievement. The Hone-McGregor trophy is named after the first Irishman (Nathaniel Hone) and Scot (Gregor McGregor) to win Blues for the English university. Hone won nine Ireland caps between 1868-84.

Congratulations to Herbie McClelland DIT Sports Officer, Peter Searson (DIT Graduate) and our three Students Michael, Harry and Jack.