This site uses a number of third party cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy


President of DIT enrolled as Member of RIA

Posted: 27 May, 2016

Professor Brian Norton, President of Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT) has been enrolled as a Member of the Royal Irish Academy (RIA).

Professor Norton was among 22 newly elected members admitted today during the annual Admittance Day ceremony for new members, conducted by RIA President, Professor Mary E. Daly. 

Professor Norton, who is a scientist and an engineer, is a world authority in the field of solar energy.  Speaking after the ceremony, he said he was both delighted and very honoured by his election and he looked forward to participating in the work of the RIA in supporting and promoting scholarship, creativity and discovery.  “While this is a huge personal honour, it also reflects on the wider achievements of DIT and my colleagues who are themselves engaged in excellent research and discovery in areas that have very significant impacts on how we live our lives.”

Election to the RIA, which has occurred annually since 1785, is the highest academic honour in Ireland. There are now 497 members of the Academy, in disciplines from the sciences, humanities and social sciences.

The newly elected members admitted at today’s ceremony are as follows:

In Humanities and Social Sciences:

Tom Arnold (IIEA); Catherine Day (UCC governing body); Paul. Devereaux (UCD); Michael Marsh (TCD); William J. Mc Cormack; Diane Negra (UCD); Máirín Nic Eoin (St Patrick’s College, Drumcondra/DCU); Geoffrey Roberts (UCC); Stefano Sanvito (TCD).

In Science:

Frédéric Dias (UCD); Justin D. Holmes (UCC); Walter Kolch (UCD); Andrew Mills (QUB); Brian Norton (DIT); Emma Teeling (UCD).

The following were also admitted as Honorary Members:

Garret A. FitzGerald (University of Pennsylvania); Conor A. Gearty (London School of Economics); Fabiola Giannoti (Director General, CERN); Sir Paul M. Nurse (Francis Crick Institute); Louise M. Richardson (Vice-chancellor, University of Oxford); Timothy Williamson (University of Oxford); Clair Wills (Princeton University