This site uses a number of third party cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy


DIT academics conferred with Honorary Professorships at DIT spring graduation ceremonies

Posted: 5 March, 2018

The spring conferring ceremonies for the DIT Class of 2017/2018 took place in the wonderful surroundings of St. Patrick’s Cathedral on Saturday, 24 February.

{L-R} John O'Connor, Director and Dean of the DIT College of Arts and Tourism, Professor Paul Donnelly, Professor Cliona Doris, Professor Noel Fitzpatrick, Professor Una Hunt, Professor John Kearney, Professor Anne Greene, Professor Jesus Frias, Professor Orla Howe and Professor Michael Devereux, Director and Dean, College of Sciences and Health}

Despite the cold weather, smiling graduates of a wide range of programmes from across DIT gathered with family and friends to celebrate their educational achievements. When the President, Professor Brian Norton invited them to show their appreciation to family and friends, lecturers and tutors who had supported them through their studies, they raised the roof of St Patrick’s Cathedral.

A large academic procession opened both ceremonies as DIT staff assembled to celebrate with colleagues who received the Award of Honorary Professor. The title is awarded in recognition of outstanding academic achievement and distinction demonstrated through research, consultancy, scholarship or creative achievement; professional standing; and academic leadership. This year, the following DIT academics were conferred with the Award of Honorary Professor:

  • Dr. Paul Donnelly, School of Marketing
  • Dr. Cliona Doris, Conservatory of Music and Drama
  • Dr. Noel Fitzpatrick, College of Arts and Tourism
  • Dr. Jesus Frias, Environmental Sustainability and Health Institute (ESHI)
  • Dr. Anne Greene, School of Chemical and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Dr. Orla Howe, School of Biological Sciences
  • Dr. Una Hunt, Conservatory of Music and Drama
  • Dr. John Kearney, School of Biological Sciences

As part of the celebrations, a group of talented vocalists and musicians from the DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama performed a selection of arrangements for the enthralled audience. Vocalist Maria Matthews and Harpist Tara Viscardi performed during the morning ceremony while Harpist Meabh McKenna accompanied Maria at the later ceremony at 12.30pm.

DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama student Tara Viscardi on Harp

It was a double celebration for the Dorris family as Dr. Cliona Doris of the DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama received an Honorary Professorship while her sister, Margaret Dorris, received her PhD during the same ceremony. 


{L-R} Dr Cliona Dorris, Professor Brian Norton and Dr Margaret Dorris

Graduates of the Fashion Buying & Management Postgraduate Programme celebrate with Professor Brian Norton

Graduates of the BEng in Military Aviation Technology