To support your privacy rights we have updated our Privacy Statement and Cookie Policy to describe our use and sharing of cookies with our social media, advertising & analytics partners. We recommend that you review the privacy statement here, and follow the instructions to modify your cookie settings to suit your privacy preferences. Continued use of our site confirms your choice to accept our privacy statement & cookie policy and confirms your agreement to the processing of your personal data in line with our policy and your preferences. Read Cookie Policy.


TU4D students and staff gather to celebrate inaugural 1916 Bursary Fund Awardees

Posted: 21 May, 2018

Today, 25 students from DIT, ITB and ITT gathered in Grangegorman to celebrate receiving the 1916 Bursary Fund with their family, colleagues and Lecturers at a TU4D event hosted by DIT. Each student was personally congratulated by the President of their Institute - ITB, DIT and ITT.

Pictured at the inaugural 1916 Bursary Fund Award Ceremony were Joanne McGuinness (ITB), Niamh Plunkett (ITT) and Matt Hellis (DIT)

Welcoming the students, Professor Brian Norton, President of DIT said that all three institutes work hard to encourage greater participation of those in society who are not traditionally represented in Higher Education and that the 1916 Bursary Fund was a powerful addition to the range of supports offered by DIT, ITB and ITT to access students. Also, speaking at the event was Dr Louise Callinan, Access Policy Officer in the Higher Education Authority who discussed the organisation's National Access Plan which is designed to ensure that the student body in Ireland's higher education sector reflects the diversity and social mix of Ireland’s population.

The 1916 Bursary Fund was announced by the Minister for Education and Skills in December in 2017 to encourage participation and success by students from sections of society that are significantly under-represented in higher education. Over the next three academic years, the 1916 Bursary Fund will be awarded to 25 first-year DIT, ITT and ITB students with each receiving a bursary in the amount of €5,000 for each year of their undergraduate programme of study. The fund is open to full-time and part-time students from under-represented socio-economic groups who meet at least one of the following criteria: 

  • First -time, mature student entrants;
  • Students with a disability;
  • Irish Travellers;
  • Further education award holders;
  • Lone parents;
  • Ethnic minorities (including programme refugees);
  • Students who are or were in the care of the State.

The 1916 Bursary Fund for first-years in the academic year of 2018/2019 will open for applications during the summer with more information available on the DIT Access and Civil Engagement website here

TU4D Presidents, Mr Thomas Stone, Prof. Brian Norton and Dr Diarmuid O’Callaghan, celebrate with the 2017/2018 recipients of the 1916 Bursary Fund

Prof. Brian Norton and DIT 1916 Bursary Fund Awardees

Dr Louise Callinan, Access Policy Officer, HEA discusses the National Access Plan.