This site uses a number of third party cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy


Dr Deirdre Lillis appointed to Senate of NUI

Posted: 22 January, 2019

The Minister for Education and Skills, Joe McHugh TD, has appointed Dr Deirdre Lillis, TU Dublin, to the Senate of the National University of Ireland (NUI) for the 2019-2024 term.

The NUI, and its member universities and colleges, promotes the National University of Ireland nationally and internationally through scholarship and the advancement of higher education and the cultural and intellectual life of Ireland. Dr Lillis is one of four Government appointees to the Senate, including Professor Patrick Clancy, Dr Barbara Doyle Prestwich and Mr John Hurley.

Since 2008, Dr Lillis has been Head of the School of Computer Science in TU Dublin’s City Campus.  The School is the largest provider of computer science graduates to the ICT sector in Ireland.  She has led an integrated internationalisation strategy, working with partners in Europe, Korea and China and has secured significant European funding for projects in university-industry innovations and young talent management.

Dr Lillis also serves on the Board of the Higher Education Authority, the Board of the Irish Writers Centre and the RIA Engineering and Computer Sciences Committee.