This site uses a number of third party cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy


Confey College and Kishoge Community College National Finalists of CanSat 2019

Posted: 2 April, 2019

Transition-year students from Confey College in Leixlip won the prestigious TU Dublin – City Campus CanSat Regional Final, a European Space Agency initiative, which took place TU Dublin Grangegorman in March.

The team from Confey College and runners-up Kishoge Community College from Lucan beat stiff competition from five other schools for their place at the national finals in Portlaoise in May.

A CanSat is a simulation of a satellite built inside an empty soft drink can. The challenge for the students is to fit all the major subsystems found in a satellite, such as power, sensors and a communication system, into this small space. The CanSat is then launched to an altitude of 100 metres using a drone – its mission is to measure weather data, speed and acceleration and to make a safe landing using a parachute designed by the students.

Dr Mick McKeever, a Controls Lecturer in the School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering who is coordinating the competition in TU Dublin - City Campus, says, “The goal of CanSat is to encourage school students to consider careers in science and engineering. The competition engages students in a real space project in a fun and exciting way. It builds life skills such as teamwork, presentation and communication skills, and industry skills such as computer programming, radio communications, data analysis and soldering electronics.”

The other schools that competed in the TU Dublin – City Campus CanSat Regional Final were Belvedere College, Clonkeen College, St Mary’s Secondary School New Ross, St Columba’s College and Holy Family Newbridge.

The CanSat Ireland competition is run by ESERO Ireland in collaboration with CIT Blackrock Castle Observatory and the Institutes of Technology and is co-funded by the European Space Agency and Science Foundation Ireland.