This site uses a number of third party cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy


ACE Student Volunteering Awards 2019

Posted: 12 April, 2019

The Access and Civic Engagement (ACE) Office held its Annual Volunteering Awards Ceremony on Monday 8th April.

It was held in the beautiful St. Laurence’s Church on the Grangegorman Campus and the ACE Office was delighted to acknowledge the extent of volunteerism of the students. The night was a great success celebrating the TU Dublin Students for volunteering in a variety of ACE initiatives.

Almost 100 acts of volunteering by TU Dublin students were honoured for their remarkable commitment, supporting ACE work over the past academic year.  Students volunteered their time for a wide variety of initiatives and events, which included ACE Student Leadership Launchpad (giving up 100 hours of their time for this initiative); DIT/TU Dublin Open Day, HEAR/DARE Advice Clinics, Grangegorman Campus Tours, College of Science & Health Open Day, Higher Options, Secondary School Visits, Junior Cycle Workshops, College taster events, ESTeEM and Building ESTeEM Events. The success of these events and activities would not be possible without the commitment of our student volunteers.

Special awards were made to five Access students for their outstanding volunteering contribution to ACE initiatives.

Anaïs Motolo (Marketing, 2nd Year)

 Kerry Mannion (Social Care Student, 3rd Year)

Janet Yennusick (L.L.B. (Hons) in Law, 2nd Year)

Padraig Treanor  (Medicinal Chemistry & Pharmacy Science, 2nd Year)

Moya Clarke (Electrical & Electronic / Computer & Communications Engineering, 2nd Year)

These exceptional students volunteered as Student Leader’s mentoring Access students during the Access Orientation Programme and throughout their first year in College, helping them to adjust to the transition to third-level. They also volunteered at the HEAR/DARE Clinic, DIT / TU Dublin Open Days, Higher Options, Campus Tours and Building ESTeEM initiatives.

Also speaking on the night was Pierre Yimbog, current DITSU President and in-coming TU Dublin Student’s Union President.  Pierre is a former Access Student who graduated from DT532 Law in 2017. During his time as a student, Pierre served in many roles supporting the work of the Access Service, including Secretary to the Access Student Forum, Student Leader with the Student Leadership Launchpad Programme and volunteer at College Awareness week.

The event was attended by Professor Brian Norton, Principal of TU Dublin City Campus, who was very complimentary of our Access Volunteer students and the work of the Access and Civic Engagement work. Dr Noel O’Connor, Director of Student Development, closed the ceremony praised the contributions of the students to TU Dublin and the broader community. Directors and Deans or representative of each of the colleges presented the awards to the students from their college.

Also in attendance were:

  • Ms Gráinne Burke, Access Officer, who acted as Master of Ceremonies,
  • Ms. Catherine Lynch, Manager, Access & Civic Engagement Office,
  • Dr. Katrina Lawlor, Director and Dean, College of Business,
  • Dr Kevin Lalor, Assistant Head of School, LLSS on behalf of John O’Connor Dean of the College of Arts & Tourism. 
  • Professor John Doran, Head of School, School of Physics & Clinical & Optometric Sciences on behalf of Director & Dean Professor Michael Devereaux, College of Sciences & Health. 
  • Members of the Access & Civic Engagement Office.