‌‌Teastas Eorpach na Gaeilge / European Certificate in Irish

Attain a qualification in Irish

The European Certificate in Irish (TEG) is an examination system for adult learners of Irish that is linked to the 'Common European Framework of Reference for Languages' (Council of Europe, 2001) organised through NUI Maynooth. 

Examinations test four skills: Speaking, Listening Comprehension, Reading Comprehension and Writing.

There are 6 levels available from A1 (Absolute Beginners) to C2 (Advanced 2) and examinations take place in various venues around the country during the year.

Examinations are currently available at five levels from Absolute Beginners (A1) to Advanced 1 (C1). A further level, Advanced 2 (C2), is in the process of development.

All information on TEG is available at www.teg.ie 

TEG -  Íomhá

The TEG Exam dates, venues and deadlines are available here

The deadline for applications with NUI Maynooth for A1, A2, B1 and B2 examinations: 16th March 2018. 

If you wish to sit a TEG examination and receive accrediation, you must register with and pay the Language Centre in NUI Maynooth here

Oifig na Gaeilge will reimburse DIT Staff & Students who register and pay for TEG examinations by completing the application form below for reimbursement of TEG fees and emailing Oifig na Gaeilge at gaeilge@dit.ie with supporting proof of registration and payment made to NUI Maynooth.

Reimbursement will be made through CORE Expenses in the case of DIT Staff and Funds Transfer for DIT Students. 

TEG Fee's Application Form: Foirm TEG 2018 

Depending on demand, specialised workshops are organised from March - May at various levels to help prepare DIT staff and students for the TEG examinations.


TEG: Examinations for adult learners of Irish. There’s a level to suit you!




Back to Top